www.homeseer.com    

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > HS3Touch™

HS3Touch™ Discussions regarding HS3Touch touchscreen software for HomeSeer HS3

Old May 30th, 2017, 03:09 PM
Seer

remote access to HSTouch server, static external IP

I am new to Homeseer, just ordered the Z-net to get started with two Z-wave devices, Yale YRD240 lock and a Aeon smartswitch 6.

I wonder about access with the Android app. I have always provided a static URL to my home network using a dynamic DNS service. Does this replace the function of a MyHS login and account? Will I be able to connect HStouch android app to the server on my home network simply by entereing the URL and port in Android, and configuring the router and windows firewall appropriately?

I'm trying to figure out the necessity and function of a MyHS account. If Homeseer is truly self-contained, I'm not sure why MyHS does.
Old May 30th, 2017, 03:11 PM
OverSeer

You can use a static URL and then port-forward to your HS3 machine. That will work just fine.
myhs is handy for managing multiple HS instances or if you're not network savvy. It is a bit slower than direct access and you are relying on many moving pieces that sometimes can go down.

HS3Pro Running on a Raspberry Pi2 (Raspbian)
64 Z-Wave Nodes, 162 Events, 293 Devices
UPB modules via OMNI plugin/panel
Plugins: Z-Wave, BLRF, OMNI, HSTouch, weatherXML, EasyTrigger
HSTouch Clients: 3 Android, 1 Joggler
Old May 30th, 2017, 03:15 PM
Seer

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmasonjr View Post
You can use a static URL and then port-forward to your HS3 machine. That will work just fine.
myhs is handy for managing multiple HS instances or if you're not network savvy. It is a bit slower than direct access and you are relying on many moving pieces that sometimes can go down.