www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Thermostat / HVAC Plug-ins > Thermostat / HVAC Discussion > HomeSeer HAI Omnistat Plug-in

HomeSeer HAI Omnistat Plug-in Discussions related to the HomeSeer provided thermostat plug-in for HAI thermostats. These plug-ins will eventually replace the current script-based thermostat support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 1st, 2011, 02:08 PM
AO!'s Avatar
AO! AO! is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 102
HAI Code Changes for Omnistat2

I purchased the source code for the HAI Thermostat, but it's going to take a bit to become familiar with the code and re-learn C++.

I only need a couple of changes (stage 2 cooling notification and changing the background color) so I would like to know what changes are most important to you!

The bad news about the source licensing program is I can make changes for my personal use or sell it through the Homeseer store...there is no option for giving the changes away for free, so expect to see a price tag on the updated plug-in.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 21st, 2011, 10:42 PM
Mr Spock's Avatar
Mr Spock Mr Spock is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 343
Hi AO!

Glad to see you are picking this up. If I can help beta test it let me know.

I'm not able to communicate to my RC2000 stat when I go through an Ethernet to serial adapter. If I connect the stat directly to the serial ports of my HS machine everything works. If I connect using a USB to serial adapter it works too. This QuaTech QSE-100D (FW 4.26) seems to work great with everything but HS. But then everything else is much faster than the poky 300 baud used on the thermostat.

Feature requests:
1) Since I'm getting timeout messages in the log I'm assuming its a latency issue. Maybe it needs a longer window, or make the timeout adjustable in the web interface or in an .ini file.
2) Improve error handling!
3) Allow faster or user selectable baud rate. Current plugin is locked to 300 baud. Again, adjustable in in the web interface or an .ini file would be nice.

Questions:
1) Who will support it, for how long, and under what conditions?
2) What is the cost? If it's $20 or less and fixes my problems I'll buy it.

Thanks.
__________________
Live long and prosper.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 21st, 2011, 11:36 PM
AO!'s Avatar
AO! AO! is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Spock View Post
I'm not able to communicate to my RC2000 stat when I go through an Ethernet to serial adapter. If I connect the stat directly to the serial ports of my HS machine everything works. If I connect using a USB to serial adapter it works too. This QuaTech QSE-100D (FW 4.26) seems to work great with everything but HS. But then everything else is much faster than the poky 300 baud used on the thermostat.
I don't seem to have a problem using a Digi Portserver...I've only used it at 300 baud...I guess I should test at a higher rate!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Spock View Post
Feature requests:
1) Since I'm getting timeout messages in the log I'm assuming its a latency issue. Maybe it needs a longer window, or make the timeout adjustable in the web interface or in an .ini file.
2) Improve error handling!
3) Allow faster or user selectable baud rate. Current plugin is locked to 300 baud. Again, adjustable in in the web interface or an .ini file would be nice.
All those are planned along with some interesting items My goal is to be able to change every register available (some you can not get to through the thermostat interface) Energy settings and ASCII messages will be fun! BTW, this is a complete re-write in C#...the source code I purchased seems pretty useless. I'm about halfway through the Omnistat code but still need to make it into a plug-in (will be my first attempt at a plug-in!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Spock View Post
Questions:
1) Who will support it, for how long, and under what conditions?
It will be a third party plug-in but I have already thought about succession plans in the event something happens to me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Spock View Post
2) What is the cost? If it's $20 or less and fixes my problems I'll buy it.
Don't have a clue what I'm going to charge yet, but I would like to try and recoup the cost of the source code and I don't think there are that many using the Omnistat2...however, once word gets out on all you can do with this plug-in, it might get some to switch over to it

AO!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 22nd, 2011, 10:41 AM
Mr Spock's Avatar
Mr Spock Mr Spock is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 343
My experience with the current HAI plugin is that it will ONLY operate at 300 baud and there is no way to change it. You can change the baud rate at the thermostat, but not at the plugin and therefore its usage is locked to 300.

Cool. This all sounds great.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 13th, 2011, 02:30 PM
heatvent's Avatar
heatvent heatvent is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,145
Any update or progress to report? I am interested in hearing the planned changes. I use the free HS plugin at the moment and is meeting my needs (Omnistat1 not 2). But would like to know what I might be missing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 16th, 2011, 01:37 AM
Mr Spock's Avatar
Mr Spock Mr Spock is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 343
Hi AO!

How's progress? I'm looking forward to your plugin and I think others will too.

I thought of another feature request. How about user selectable house codes? This seems to be an uncommon feature, so maybe it's difficult. Thought I'd ask.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 16th, 2011, 11:45 AM
AO!'s Avatar
AO! AO! is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Spock View Post
Hi AO!

How's progress? I'm looking forward to your plugin and I think others will too.
Progress has stalled on creating the plug-in due to many hours working on proposals for work. Should be able to get back to programming the plug-in next week.
Quote:
I thought of another feature request. How about user selectable house codes? This seems to be an uncommon feature, so maybe it's difficult. Thought I'd ask.
This is my first plug-in so I don't know how hard it will be but I'll look into it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 16th, 2011, 11:49 AM
AO!'s Avatar
AO! AO! is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by heatvent View Post
Any update or progress to report? I am interested in hearing the planned changes. I use the free HS plugin at the moment and is meeting my needs (Omnistat1 not 2). But would like to know what I might be missing.
I abandoned updating the HAI code and am re-writing it from scratch...the first version will probably be more Omnistat2 specific and later updates may bring in the older HAI thermostats. There are areas in the registers where the Omnistat2 has more information (now has 4 weeks of usage instead of 2) so the older registers are not used for it...would only need to add in checking of the model to read the proper registers, but I need to get the Omnistat2 out the door soon.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old August 20th, 2011, 07:56 PM
Mr Spock's Avatar
Mr Spock Mr Spock is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 343
Hi AO!

I'm checking in with you on the plugin development. I'm hoping to have control of my thermostat this winter.

How is progress?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old August 22nd, 2011, 02:52 PM
AO!'s Avatar
AO! AO! is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 102
Ran into some problems with the temperature and setpoints...seems no mater what I set the cool/heat to, it would show up as something different. Turns out to be a problem with my thermostat. Just got the replacement a day or so ago and verified the code works properly. Most all the code to send/receive to the thermostat is done, now I just need to wrap it up in the plug-in code. I think coding time is the only problem now, but should be able to get back to this project very soon.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 3rd, 2012, 02:09 PM
mterry63 mterry63 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 504
Is this new plugin dead? I just got a Omnistat2 and would love to have complete functionality.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 11th, 2012, 01:01 PM
jlrichar's Avatar
jlrichar jlrichar is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,117
I am waiting for the same thing. But I have not purchased omnistat2 yet.

If I had to guess though I would predict that this has a slim chance of moving forward. It seems pretty complicated, and it seems like hs and hai no longer are best friends. So I imagine lots of friction to get this working well.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 11th, 2012, 09:51 PM
AO!'s Avatar
AO! AO! is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 102
Wink

This thing is not dead yet...but it is on life support!

I have been swamped at work since September and just have not had time to work on this. With that said, I have most of the logic for controlling the Omnistat2 completed, just need to convert it into a plug-in.

So...if someone knows C#, and how to set up a plug-in (in C#), and would like to help me out...we could move this forward! Heck, as long as you don't sell it, I'll even let you call the plug-in your own

Looking at my current/future workload, I cannot even expect to take a vacation, let alone code this up, before the consortium meeting in July. Good thing I love my job!

AO!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 13th, 2012, 11:37 PM
mterry63 mterry63 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 504
AO,

I'm also in San Antonio, have a newly installed RC-2000, as well as Visual Studio and enough C# to be dangerous.

I'd be happy to help. Send me an email through the board and we can work something out.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old May 16th, 2012, 09:25 AM
jpape's Avatar
jpape jpape is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 638
I would be interested in paying for this plugin if it is ever released.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old June 28th, 2012, 01:43 PM
acromion acromion is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 162
Checking on the status of this.

I'm just wondering how this project is progressing. I've got an rc2000 installed here and I am really missing the features that are unsupported (humidity,fan cycle mode, outdoor temp).

Do you need some help? Not a C# programmer but I've done a fair bit of C++ and I'm willing to take a stab at it.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old June 28th, 2012, 09:07 PM
AO!'s Avatar
AO! AO! is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by acromion View Post
I'm just wondering how this project is progressing. I've got an rc2000 installed here and I am really missing the features that are unsupported (humidity,fan cycle mode, outdoor temp).

Do you need some help? Not a C# programmer but I've done a fair bit of C++ and I'm willing to take a stab at it.
Can you write a plug-in in C#? Most of the code to control the RC2000 is done, just need to wrap it into the plug-in structure. I sent mterry the code I have back in May, but have not heard anything from him since. I'm hoping that within the next month, I will have time to actually breathe, and then maybe try to finish up.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old July 4th, 2012, 05:29 PM
acromion acromion is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 162
C# plugin

Sorry for the slow reply. I thought I was subsribed to the thread but I wasn't and I didn't see that you had replied.

I haven't written a C# plugin before but I guess it is time to learn. I have another project in mind that needs a plugin as well so it would be good to figure out how to write one.

Almost done (as if software can ever be done) a work project at the moment so I should have some time to look at it in the next week or so.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old August 1st, 2012, 11:06 AM
acromion acromion is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 162
Still would love the plugin but I'm short on time...

Things are still very busy with work right now so it doesn't look like I'll get a chance to work on this any time soon. All I really want is to be able to read the humidity and outdoor temperature. Maybe I should look into a quick vb script to do that.

Anyways, good luck and if you deciide to sell your efforts I'll likely buy it.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old August 12th, 2012, 03:27 PM
AO!'s Avatar
AO! AO! is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 102
Thumbs up

Good News!
After a crazy year, things have slowed down at work to the point that I managed to devote several hours to the project this weekend.

Status: I relearned what I was trying to do in the code and added more features to the base code. A couple of more things I want to implement to include reading all registers from the thermostat on start up and automatic polling. I have not yet started working on the plug-in wrapper.

Questions that need answers: Does anyone interested in this plug-in use Celsius? Does anyone have more than one Omnistat2? Can I skip implementing the schedule settings and just make everyone input them at the thermostat?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC