www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Irrigation Plug-ins > Irrigation Discussion

Irrigation Discussion Discussion of irrigation integration with HomeSeer systems.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old June 8th, 2018, 11:08 AM
bpwwer bpwwer is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwshome2 View Post
Hi,

I have the RainMachine plugin installed and it works fine through the HS3 web interface. I want to integrate it into my full irrigation system (part of which is controlled by another type of controller), so I'd like to write scripts to control the devices the plugin creates.

I'm not an expert at CAPI controls - I know how to turn things on and off, but the Rainmachine devices have more complicated control pairs for CAPI commands. Would it be possible for you to post a simple example of a CAPI command that would turn on a device named 'Zone 1' tor 10 minutes? I think I could figure out the rest on my own.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.
Well, I'm not an expert at HS scripting but it shouldn't be too difficult. For the zone control, it's pretty similar to a lighting dimmer. It can be off or on with a value.

If you look at the controls in the device "Status Graphic" tab, there should be two. One of the fields for those is called "control use" That value can be used to select which control you want to use. I haven't tried this, but from the scripting documentation, I think you want to do something like:
Code:
Dim objCAPIControl As CAPIControl
Dim dvRef as Integer

dvRef = hs.GetDeviceRefByName("Zone 1")
objCAPIControl = hs.CAPIGetSingleControlByUse(dvRef,ePairControlUse._On)
If objCAPIControl IsNot Nothing Then
  objCAPIControl.ControlValue = 10 * 60
  hs.CAPIControlHandler(objCAPIControl)
End If
The ePairControlUse._On parameter to CAPIGetSingleControlByUse says to get the control that has "Control Use" set to "on".

The objCAPIControl.ControlValue = 10 * 60 is to pass in the number of seconds you want the zone to run for. In this case 10 minutes (600 seconds).

If you wanted to turn off the zone before the 10 minutes were up, you get the off control using ePairControlUse._Off and just call the CAPIControlHandler with the off control.

That's my best guess on how it should work.
__________________
--
Bob Paauwe
ISYInsteon Plug-in
http://www.bobsplace.com/ISYInsteon/
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old June 8th, 2018, 03:20 PM
jwshome2 jwshome2 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Boston
Posts: 385
Excellent, thanks so much. I'll get it to work and will then post the solution so others can utilize it if needed as well.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old June 12th, 2018, 12:24 AM
scyto scyto is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Washington
Posts: 25
Tested with my RainMachine Mini8 - seems to work.

Few observations / requests:
1) i swear on install it started your ISY plugin too... i was leaving it off untill i saw some of the replies in that thread on rooms, and i swear the ISY plugin 'just' started
2) could you support grouping?
3) have a port field that defaults to 8080 for idiots like me who didn't read the UI properly 5 times in a row :-)
4) ability to filter unused zones (yes i know you can hide them in HS UI)
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old June 12th, 2018, 11:42 AM
bpwwer bpwwer is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by scyto View Post
Tested with my RainMachine Mini8 - seems to work.

Few observations / requests:
1) i swear on install it started your ISY plugin too... i was leaving it off untill i saw some of the replies in that thread on rooms, and i swear the ISY plugin 'just' started
2) could you support grouping?
3) have a port field that defaults to 8080 for idiots like me who didn't read the UI properly 5 times in a row :-)
4) ability to filter unused zones (yes i know you can hide them in HS UI)
1) There's no magic link between the two plug-ins, at last not on purpose

2) All of the devices are grouped together now, so I'm assuming you mean by type; all zones grouped together, all programs grouped. Hmm, HS doesn't provide a hierarchy for groupings so I'd have to split the current group. It might make more sense split up. I'll experiment with it.

3) I'm so used to entering IP:Port for various things that I don't even think about it. Would adding a tool tip with examples maybe be an alternative? Make it more obvious.

4) Sure, that can be configurable.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old June 12th, 2018, 12:31 PM
scyto scyto is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Washington
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpwwer View Post
1) There's no magic link between the two plug-ins, at last not on purpose
I will keep an eye on it and see if it does it again or if i fat fingered :-) - one can see in the logs that the plugin started as soon as the rainmachine install finished - i will see if i can repro, of you don't hear from me assume i was an idiot

Quote:

2) All of the devices are grouped together now, so I'm assuming you mean by type; all zones grouped together, all programs grouped. Hmm, HS doesn't provide a hierarchy for groupings so I'd have to split the current group. It might make more sense split up. I'll experiment with it.
Not sure if i was clear and i don't want you to do a lot of unneeded work - i was looking at the attached view and wondering why the envisalink plugin groups them nicely and your plugin doesn't. I have OCD :-)


Quote:
3) I'm so used to entering IP:Port for various things that I don't even think about it. Would adding a tool tip with examples maybe be an alternative? Make it more obvious.
I don't think a tool tip will help. They seem to be unreliable in some browsers
I would suggest another line item prepopulated with the default of 8080.

Also these are only nice to haves, the plug in does what it needs to and I understand it is free. Please don't feel obliged to do UI work :-)
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old June 15th, 2018, 11:28 PM
dexterdom dexterdom is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 77
Hey Bob thanks for creating this plugin! I own a touch HD-12 and have been happy with it. I was just on the RainMachine website and see that there is a Beta v.4.0.944 of the firmware where they have added a Pause command (to the web UI as well as to the API). Would you be open to adding that command to your plugin as an event action? I have a specific issue/scenario that this would help resolve.
Cheers
Dom
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old June 16th, 2018, 09:11 PM
bpwwer bpwwer is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexterdom View Post
Hey Bob thanks for creating this plugin! I own a touch HD-12 and have been happy with it. I was just on the RainMachine website and see that there is a Beta v.4.0.944 of the firmware where they have added a Pause command (to the web UI as well as to the API). Would you be open to adding that command to your plugin as an event action? I have a specific issue/scenario that this would help resolve.
Cheers
Dom
Sure, when it becomes available and the API is documented I'll work on adding it.

I've been adding a bunch of stuff to the plug-in lately, mostly around displaying status but some additional features related to restrictions as well.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old June 22nd, 2018, 11:22 PM
dexterdom dexterdom is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpwwer View Post
Sure, when it becomes available and the API is documented I'll work on adding it.

I've been adding a bunch of stuff to the plug-in lately, mostly around displaying status but some additional features related to restrictions as well.
That's great news, thank you! I see the API hasn't been documented yet, I'll keep an eye on it.
In my case, I wanted to pause my watering whenever my clothes washing machine is running, because my water pressure drops significantly when the washer is on and this impacts the irrigation. (This is not an unusual scenario in my home, since we have a large family and run the washer very frequently and at odd hours).
I'm already able to detect when my washer is on/off using homeseer, so having the ability to pause the irrigation using your plugin would be ideal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plug-in support on Linux (Plug-in authors please read!) rjh HS3 Plug-In Development 40 December 29th, 2017 11:30 AM
RainMachine/Rachio/OpenSprinkler mulu Irrigation Discussion 1 December 30th, 2016 03:47 PM
Plug-in doesn't see PLM or Hub, HomeSeer plug-in does LouieD Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 27 July 19th, 2016 11:31 AM
Compare/contrast ACRF(2) plug-in and RFXCOM plug-in? NeverDie ACRF Processor (3P) 1 November 12th, 2013 11:18 AM
Insteon PLM Plug-in is moving to a licensed plug-in mnsandler Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 19 September 22nd, 2010 09:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC