Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Speaker Client running as Service on remote machines?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Speaker Client running as Service on remote machines?

I am new to HomeSeer (1 week now) and I really love the functionality. I'm still very much in learning mode and have found quite a few answers to my various questions and problems searching the forums. This is a great resource. Thank You!!

Now, here is a question I can't find an answer to. I am running HomeSeer on my Windows Server 2003 machine and I have installed the Speaker Client on the multiple Windows XP machines running throughout my house. All of these machines remain on at all times but there is not always someone logged onto the client machines. Is there a way to install the Speaker Client as a Service on XP so that it does not require there to be an active user logged on to these machines for the speaker client to work?

AdvaThanks<THANKS>nce,
    Glenn

No there's no way to run the speaker client as a service but you could simply put in it the startup folder and this way it will start when someone logs in.
    💁‍♂️ Support & Customer Service 🙋‍♂️ Sales Questions 🛒 Shop HomeSeer Products

Comment

Yep, already did that but wanted a more complete solution. I'll play around with some W2K3 reskit tools and post back to this thread if I get that to work.

Thanks for the quick reply.

Comment

The issue, I believe, is that Windows requires an interactive desktop session in order to deliver sound. I maybe mistaken, but I seem to recall that this is the limiting factor.

Comment

actually there is a command in windows 2000 that lets you load programs as services.

I'll see if I can find it tonight when I have some time

--Dan