www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > HS3 / HS3PRO > HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion

HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion Discussions related to the released version of HS3/HS3PRO

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 11th, 2017, 07:15 PM
tahl tahl is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 20
How to drive HS3 from external VBScript??

In HS2, I would do something like this:

Function DoDevice(zUnit,zValue,zValue2,zValue3)
Dim hs

Set hs=CreateObject("HomeSeer.application")
If hs is Nothing Then
Msgbox "Error: Homeseer did not initiaize!"
DoDevice = False
Else

hs.ExecX10 zUnit,zValue,zValue2,zValue3

Set hs = Nothing
DoDevice = True
End If
End Function

Note the CreateObject. What is the name for HS3?? Note that for the time being, I'm running both HS2 and HS3 on the same box.

Thanks!

Tahl
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 11th, 2017, 08:26 PM
donstephens's Avatar
donstephens donstephens is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hamilton, MT
Posts: 2,576
This may help.

https://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?p=1196895
__________________
Don
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 12th, 2017, 06:15 PM
tahl tahl is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 20
Hi @don,

Thanks for the reference.

I'm trying to understand the model being assumed. It appears from the forum entries that the way to communicate with the HS3 is by talking to a scaled-down plug-in sort of thing. True? I'm having some difficulty getting it.

Does HS3 have a COM interface? Or a REST (i.e., a web) interface? I'd really like to use VBScript in the case of the former or CURL in the case of the latter. (I'd hate to use IFTTT, because it is not reliable, but I can if I must.)

I'm surprised that I cannot much information on how to talk to HS3 from the outside.

Thanks!
Tahl
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 12th, 2017, 06:26 PM
donstephens's Avatar
donstephens donstephens is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hamilton, MT
Posts: 2,576
Tahl:

There are many on this forum that are more adept than I am, but the sample I pointed you to is a stripped version from the HS API. There is a REST plugin
available, if you would like to use that.

The docs for all this stuff are all over the place, but here is something for the REST plugin

https://forums.homeseer.com/showthre...61#post1089161

Hope this helps.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tahl View Post
Hi @don,

Thanks for the reference.

I'm trying to understand the model being assumed. It appears from the forum entries that the way to communicate with the HS3 is by talking to a scaled-down plug-in sort of thing. True? I'm having some difficulty getting it.

Does HS3 have a COM interface? Or a REST (i.e., a web) interface? I'd really like to use VBScript in the case of the former or CURL in the case of the latter. (I'd hate to use IFTTT, because it is not reliable, but I can if I must.)

I'm surprised that I cannot much information on how to talk to HS3 from the outside.

Thanks!
Tahl
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 12th, 2017, 07:23 PM
tahl tahl is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 20
@Don,

Works great. Just what I needed!

Looks from the thread you tried this in HS2 as well. I tried it there as well to no avail. I know a few things changed....

All the best,
Tahl
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 12th, 2017, 10:36 PM
donstephens's Avatar
donstephens donstephens is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hamilton, MT
Posts: 2,576
Great. Glad it worked for you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run HS3 from a secondary drive? Steve Q HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 8 November 11th, 2016 11:36 AM
Off the C drive nightwalker HSTouch™ 0 November 16th, 2008 03:21 PM
External Hard Drive on a Pro-100? termite HomeSeer General Discussion Area 1 December 4th, 2007 07:47 AM
off topic but... external 5-1/4 in. drive enclosure- brand? Stevech General Home Automation Hardware Discussion 2 August 21st, 2005 11:08 PM
External VBScript ncbrittz Script & Plug-In Development 4 April 17th, 2003 10:08 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC