Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

First home, brand new irrigation system, basics please?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First home, brand new irrigation system, basics please?

Hi All,

My wife and I have just purchased our first home and I've got the home automation bug already. One of the parts of this project is the irrigation system. I have a HomeSeer Pro server with a bunch of Z-wave stuff inside sensors, switches, etc and now looking to keep the garden watered.

Main concerns at the moment are the vegetables, and rose garden everything else is pretty hardy and can be incorporated at a later stage (funds / time permitting).

I've read a fair few of the threads in this forum and I think I'll be heading down the mcssprinklers / rain8net route. But I'm no really sure where to start with the actual irrigation system (controller, sprinkler heads etc). I'm a computer systems engineer so programming of the software shouldn't be an issue but just wondering if some people could point me in the right direction for which system etc to go with?

I'm in Australia so preferably something that is available over here would be awesome, quick google found this page: http://www.irrigationwarehouse.com.au/category125_1.htm not sure if there is something more appropriate?

Do the units just plug into a wall power outlet or need to be wired by an electrician?
    Do these units also have the moisture monitoring devices or is this something that would be bought seperately and talk directly back to mcssprinklers / homeseer?
    Is there somewhere you could point me for basics of designing the system (how many heads, drippers etc etc?
    Can I use multiple water sources (I have a small water tank and would want to use this and then fallback on tap water if it is empty)?

Thanks so much for your help in advance,

Scott

Scott,
    Welcome to Homeseer.