Linear GD00Z-4 Garage Door Controller with Unsupported Openers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Linear GD00Z-4 Garage Door Controller with Unsupported Openers

I got the Linear GD00Z-4 working with my LiftMaster chain-drive opener which is officially unsupported by the GD00Z-4. Here's how:

My garage door opener has a wall-mount controller that shows time, temperature, light status and has a button to open/close the door. These models use some proprietary signaling to send an open/close command across the two wires to the opener. Simply closing this circuit does not send an open/close command which prevents the GD00Z-4 from working.

In my case, I had been using an Insteon momentary switch for many years by soldering into two points on the back of the PCB where the push-button connects. By doing this, the momentary output of the Insteon controller simulated me physically pushing the button on the console.

This all worked great until I tried to install the GD00Z-4... I thought it would just work but there's something about the GD00Z-4 that prevents the momentary closure from working.

The solution turned out to be a standard SPST 12v automotive relay and a 12v "wall wart" power supply. The GD00Z-4 just needs a middle man relay for some reason. I'm not sure what's going on inside the GD00Z-4 but this seems to work.

I'm not going to get into wiring schematics here unless someone asks. Just wanted to post up that it can be made to work.

I can't understand why you would need to install a relay, since the Linear has a relay built in. Voltage difference? Did you take a Multi-Meter to it?

Comment

Yeah it makes no sense to me but it was absolutely not working without the relay. I put the multimeter on resistance mode and it would beep momentarily when the unit flashed/beeped and went into open/close mode. I didn't check voltage.