www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Legacy Software & Plug-ins > Legacy Plug-ins > Legacy 3rd Party Plug-ins > Message Server

Message Server The Message Server plugin allows HomeSeer to display messages on remote PC's connected to your network. Provided by Christian Yvinec.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 3rd, 2004, 06:44 AM
CFGuy's Avatar
CFGuy CFGuy is online now
Have A Blessed Day
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Basehor KS
Posts: 5,212
Blade asked for ways that people are using the Message Server plugin, so I figured I'd share how I set this up.
I wanted a way to see an image when an event triggered to capture a new image, even if I am at work. I also wanted an easy way to turn the notifications off but still have the events trigger.

Since I already used the Message Server plugin, I already had the ability to send messages to my work computer.

I created an event called "Msg Server Notify". In the Action tab for Message Server I entered the following:

Clients: kjl-jeff,babylon5,homeserver
Message Type: Info
Message Box checked
Title: Image Captured
Message:<img src='http://%HS_SERVER%:85/webcam/ATI/Video Tuner/latest.jpg'>


Then I setup a virtual device (s2).
I can click the on or off buttons to turn off my image notify using this device.

Next, on all my events that capture images, I added this to the scripts tab.

&if hs.DeviceStatus("s2") = 2 Then hs.DelayTrigger 5,"Msg Serv Notify"



This allows the events to trigger but only send me the notify message when I turn the notify flag on.

While the example I posted is setup for the WebCam plugin, this could be setup to work with anything that deals with images.

I've attached an image of the message that gets sent. You can see the image in the popup window. In my case, I have one really cheap camera so the image is not the greatest, but it shows what is possible with the message window.
Attached Images
 
__________________
--
Jeff Farmer
HS 3.0.0.312, HSPhone
My HS3 Plugins: CFHSExtras, Random, Restart, Tracker, WeatherXML, PanaBluRay
Other Plugins In Use: APCUPSD, EasyTrigger, FBitSeer, HSTouch Server, Kinect, PHLocation, Pushover, RFXCom, UltraGCIR3, UltraMon3, UltraPioneerAVR3, X10, Z-Wave

Hardware: GoControl Irrigation Controler, Schlage Lever Lock, Schlage Deadbolt, Way2Call Hi-Phone, RFXCom RFXrec433 Receiver, WGL 800, TI-103, Z-Net, Pioneer 1120, Pioneer 1021, Panasonic BDT-110, Panasonic BDT-210 x2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 25th, 2004, 03:02 PM
huggy591's Avatar
huggy591 huggy591 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Plymouth, ME
Posts: 929
CF, I have something similar, but I cannot get the client to pop open any image files. Any idea what I might be doing wrong? I have the basic installation and can run and manage HS from the remote machine. I just don't see any messages on the client...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 25th, 2004, 04:35 PM
cyvinec
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Gordon,

Which way are you trying to send a message?

You can test if the messages working create a test event in HomeSeer go to the Message Server tab check the Message box enter something as message click ok to close the event. Run the test event and all connected client should get a message.

Or you can go to the Message Server web page “/ms” and client the Message link will do the same thing.

Regards,
Christian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 25th, 2004, 04:54 PM
huggy591's Avatar
huggy591 huggy591 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Plymouth, ME
Posts: 929
Found the problem - the message box time to close was 0. I thought that at 0 it would not time out, but instead it doesn't show them at all. Once I changed that, it worked fine.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 25th, 2004, 05:26 PM
cyvinec
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Gordon,

I mine is set to 0 and I just double check the code the number need to be higher then 0 for the message box to be closed. You should be able to get the message with the time to close to 0.

Regards,
Christian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 25th, 2004, 05:41 PM
CFGuy's Avatar
CFGuy CFGuy is online now
Have A Blessed Day
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Basehor KS
Posts: 5,212
I have the Time To Close Message Box set to 0 on my workstation at home.
On my computer at work and my home servers I set it to 10 seconds.

I get the popup window on all of them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC