www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler)

Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) Discussions related to Mark Sandler's 3rd parth plug-in for controlling Insteon devices via Smarthome's PLM interfaces (the 2412 & 2413 series controllers)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 24th, 2006, 01:20 AM
kevind's Avatar
kevind kevind is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: West Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 504
Smarthome can't help me...perhaps someone here?

Here's thread I posted at techmall

http://www.techmall.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=543

Anyone run into this before?

Jon,

SmartHome also told me that I could not use software to program a keypad buttons (A-D or B-G) state? As the thread above outlines, I'm having real problems syncing keypad button states in large whole house ON/OFF scenes. No issues with loads...just all the keypads secondary buttons. Hoping this plugin will solve this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 24th, 2006, 01:43 AM
Oman's Avatar
Oman Oman is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Prior Lake, MN
Posts: 3,436
It is a bit hard to follow in the thread. It is true that button cross-linking within the keypad is not done via links. Since the plug-in needs to know about how the switch works internally I've had to reverse-engineer this behavior. This *can* be programmed remotely but there is no software that I know of that does this correctly.

When a switch is controlling another then there is a link record used. If A and B control each other then there are 2 links used in each switch. If there are three switches then 4 links used in each switch. There is a limit to the number of links that can be programmed in each switch.

Because of the way Insteon groups work it doesn't scale well. For instance each keypadlinc uses 6-8 group addresses from the plug-ins (PLC actually) pool of 254. Therefore you are limited to about 30 keypadlincs if you have no groups.

If you have a few keypadlincs and a bunch of devices you are better off. Then you can have HomeSeer add a group for each of the keypadlinc buttons and control them without cross-linking each keypad. There is just a short delay before all the other keypad buttons turn off after you hit the one.

In order to know if you are running out of links I would need to know all the programming details of the keypadlinc you are having troubles with. The best way to get that is to download the data into the plug-in and look at the list there.

Jon



Quote:
Originally Posted by kevind
Here's thread I posted at techmall

http://www.techmall.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=543

Anyone run into this before?

Jon,

SmartHome also told me that I could not use software to program a keypad buttons (A-D or B-G) state? As the thread above outlines, I'm having real problems syncing keypad button states in large whole house ON/OFF scenes. No issues with loads...just all the keypads secondary buttons. Hoping this plugin will solve this?
__________________
Jon Ort
JonOrt@The--Orts.com
(Remove the dashes in the address, spam is getting out of hand)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 24th, 2006, 02:43 AM
kevind's Avatar
kevind kevind is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: West Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 504
Jon,

Will do when I get the PLC up and running.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 24th, 2006, 01:59 PM
kevind's Avatar
kevind kevind is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: West Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 504
Jon, I put a diagram up on that thread link that hopefully clarifies better what the issue is.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC