www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > HS3 / HS3PRO > HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion

HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion Discussions related to the released version of HS3/HS3PRO

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #281  
Old May 24th, 2017, 11:16 AM
mwolter mwolter is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: San Diego
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveMSJ View Post
I don't think I did anything special and I turned off any polling that HS may have set up. As long as they are set to wake-up at regular intervals they should report the battery level but only when it changes by a predefined amount. Reading the latest manual the default is 10% and it may take a few months to drop from 100% to 90%. How long have yours been running?
I think mine is faulty and only runs on the one battery in the Primary hold, hence starting at 50%. It has been reporting changes as little as 1% so the default may have been different for earlier models. I'm pretty sure I never changed this parameter. I've just checked it (parameter 44) and it is set at 5 although it has been reporting changes as small as 1% so probably different firmware.

Steve
Hi Steve, I missed your reply. They have been installed for several months and always report 100%, which is inaccurate as the batteries have died several times. I am using a SEL which is Linux. Curious, are you using Linux or a Windows based Homeseer system?
Reply With Quote
  #282  
Old May 24th, 2017, 11:39 AM
SteveMSJ SteveMSJ is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwolter View Post
Hi Steve, I missed your reply. They have been installed for several months and always report 100%, which is inaccurate as the batteries have died several times. I am using a SEL which is Linux. Curious, are you using Linux or a Windows based Homeseer system?
I'm using windows but it shouldn't make any difference. Have a look at message #14 of this thread
https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=179879
where I posted some more details.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #283  
Old May 27th, 2017, 08:27 AM
Thickman's Avatar
Thickman Thickman is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oklahoma City,Ok.
Posts: 264
Battery level and rate not changing

I have 3.0.4.9 installed and the level and rate are not changing.
Most are Ecolink Z-Wave Door/Window Sensor DWZWAVE2-ECO.
Any suggestions on what i'm doing wrong?
Attached Images
  
__________________
Terry
______________________________________
HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.318 | Windows 10 Home

Zwave | Z-Stick | BLRadar | HSTouch | Sonos | Vantage Vue
Reply With Quote
  #284  
Old May 27th, 2017, 08:40 AM
sparkman's Avatar
sparkman sparkman is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 5,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thickman View Post
I have 3.0.4.9 installed and the level and rate are not changing.

Most are Ecolink Z-Wave Door/Window Sensor DWZWAVE2-ECO.

Any suggestions on what i'm doing wrong?


Not sure if there is anything wrong. The batteries in these type of devices last along time and the discharge curve on them is not linear, so the battery reporting is never perfect. A lot of zwave devices will only report battery levels in step changes of 10%, so you may not see a change for a long time.


Sent from my Phone using Tapatalk
__________________
HS3Pro 3.0.0.318 on Jetway JBC501F9Q-Q87-B i7 8GB 1874 Devices, 955 Events, 28 Plugins
Z-Wave 3.0.1.131 Z-Net 105 nodes:Leviton Vizia,Kwikset,FortrezZ Valve/Sensors,Everspring Sensors/Modules/Outlets,CT30 Stats,MIMOLites,Aeotec Smart Switches
RFXCom W800,RFXrec433,RFXtrx433|APCUPSD|Pushover|Squeezebox|weatherXML|HS Phone W2C|APCUPSD|UltraLog
UltraGCIR GC-100|UltraNetcam|UltraPioneer|Ultra1Wire|DSC PC1832|BLLED|BLTVGuide|ImperiHome|jon00 Utilities|MySensors

PHLocation|X10 CM11A IOLinc,etc
Reply With Quote
  #285  
Old May 27th, 2017, 08:55 AM
Thickman's Avatar
Thickman Thickman is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oklahoma City,Ok.
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkman View Post
Not sure if there is anything wrong. The batteries in these type of devices last along time and the discharge curve on them is not linear, so the battery reporting is never perfect. A lot of zwave devices will only report battery levels in step changes of 10%, so you may not see a change for a long time.


Sent from my Phone using Tapatalk
Thanks for the info, i'll keep my eye on them.
Reply With Quote
  #286  
Old May 27th, 2017, 09:32 AM
SteveMSJ SteveMSJ is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveMSJ View Post
I have sent you a pm.

I notice you're location is NL, Netherlands? I wonder if it has to do with commas as decimal separators. If it is it will be good for me to get that sorted.

Steve
There was indeed a bug with writing discharge rates to the SQLite database if the system is set to use commas as the decimal separator. Current version updated to 3.0.5.2. in message #241 at the top of page 13 of this thread.

Thanks to Bart for testing this.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #287  
Old May 30th, 2017, 05:51 PM
racerfern racerfern is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 209
I just want to say "THANK YOU" for an invaluable plug-in which fills a void that should have been part of the HS core.

Being subject to higher and higher tides, I feel comfortable that my water sensors will not fail because of battery issues. Interestingly, the Aeotec water sensor went through a set of batteries fairly quickly. The Aeotec door sensors have fared much better.

Life goes on.
Reply With Quote
  #288  
Old May 31st, 2017, 05:06 PM
SteveMSJ SteveMSJ is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerfern View Post
I just want to say "THANK YOU" for an invaluable plug-in which fills a void that should have been part of the HS core.

Being subject to higher and higher tides, I feel comfortable that my water sensors will not fail because of battery issues. Interestingly, the Aeotec water sensor went through a set of batteries fairly quickly. The Aeotec door sensors have fared much better.
Thanks. It's always good to here when things are working, not just problems


At some point I should probably move this plug-in to a better named thread in a more appropriate part of the forum.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #289  
Old June 24th, 2017, 08:30 PM
akurz akurz is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Cadolzburg, Germany
Posts: 93
Suggestion...

Hi Steve,

First of all - this is a really useful plugin and I really enjoy using it. It's extremely helpful the way it is and it does it's job (alerting me about dead devices) just brilliantly. Over time the plugin has become a bit more than that by including battery statistics and stuff, but as we all know Z-Wave battery monitoring is flaky at it's best and most manufacturers have their own "creative" ways of reporting battery levels.

I believe that the one big problem the plugin suffers from is battery levels that go up and down because of "creative reporting", ambient temperature and god knows what else, ending up with stats like this one:

Code:
22.06.2017 04:44: 100% 0,0% per day
21.06.2017 17:14: 84% 14,6% per day
20.06.2017 14:53: 100% 0,0% per day
20.06.2017 02:53: 84% 32,0% per day
19.06.2017 14:53: 100% 0,0% per day
19.06.2017 02:53: 84% 11,5% per day
17.06.2017 17:25: 100% 0,0% per day
15.06.2017 21:40: 100% 0,0% per day
15.06.2017 10:12: 84% 719,9% per day
15.06.2017 09:40: 100% 0,0% per day
14.06.2017 22:12: 84% 11,2% per day
13.06.2017 11:52: 100% 0,0% per day
13.06.2017 08:40: 81% 854,9% per day
13.06.2017 08:08: 100% 0,0% per day
12.06.2017 20:40: 84% 767,9% per day
This device for example occasionally jumps back to 100%, but 84% is it's real value. So what I suggest is to only ever allow battery devices to set a new value if it's actually lower than the value on record. If a battery goes from say 84% to 80% there's a reason for it, even if it jumps up to 82% or more after that. The interesting fact for me is that under worst circumstances the real value of the device is 80%. So just leave it there. This should make sure the reported discharge curves are smoother and much more plausible.

Exceptions must be made for devices that sometimes report 0% values (yeah, I have some doing that as well) and of course any upward change that goes over the "Battery New Increase" threshold, but other than that the only way is down for batteries

What do you think?

Cheers,
Alex
Reply With Quote
  #290  
Old June 25th, 2017, 04:31 AM
SteveMSJ SteveMSJ is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by akurz View Post
Hi Steve,

First of all - this is a really useful plugin and I really enjoy using it. It's extremely helpful the way it is and it does it's job (alerting me about dead devices) just brilliantly. Over time the plugin has become a bit more than that by including battery statistics and stuff, but as we all know Z-Wave battery monitoring is flaky at it's best and most manufacturers have their own "creative" ways of reporting battery levels.

I believe that the one big problem the plugin suffers from is battery levels that go up and down because of "creative reporting", ambient temperature and god knows what else, ending up with stats like this one:

Code:
22.06.2017 04:44: 100% 0,0% per day
21.06.2017 17:14: 84% 14,6% per day
20.06.2017 14:53: 100% 0,0% per day
20.06.2017 02:53: 84% 32,0% per day
19.06.2017 14:53: 100% 0,0% per day
19.06.2017 02:53: 84% 11,5% per day
17.06.2017 17:25: 100% 0,0% per day
15.06.2017 21:40: 100% 0,0% per day
15.06.2017 10:12: 84% 719,9% per day
15.06.2017 09:40: 100% 0,0% per day
14.06.2017 22:12: 84% 11,2% per day
13.06.2017 11:52: 100% 0,0% per day
13.06.2017 08:40: 81% 854,9% per day
13.06.2017 08:08: 100% 0,0% per day
12.06.2017 20:40: 84% 767,9% per day
This device for example occasionally jumps back to 100%, but 84% is it's real value. So what I suggest is to only ever allow battery devices to set a new value if it's actually lower than the value on record. If a battery goes from say 84% to 80% there's a reason for it, even if it jumps up to 82% or more after that. The interesting fact for me is that under worst circumstances the real value of the device is 80%. So just leave it there. This should make sure the reported discharge curves are smoother and much more plausible.

Exceptions must be made for devices that sometimes report 0% values (yeah, I have some doing that as well) and of course any upward change that goes over the "Battery New Increase" threshold, but other than that the only way is down for batteries

What do you think?

Cheers,
Alex
It's an interesting idea and I will give it some thought.
I also have one or two devices where the reported battery level bounces around or hovers between two values. The trouble is 'what is the true value' and how useful is the reported value anyway?
I have discharge rate alerts turned off for most of my devices and don't pay too much attention to the reported battery levels, although find it interesting to view the history for a device.

It might be confusing to have the plug-in showing a different level to that shown for the actual device but I could possible display two values, the reported value and the baseline value with discharge rates and alerts based on the baseline value. I would probably need to make it configurable for individual devices and also have a reset button.

When I have some time to play around I will see what I can come up with.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #291  
Old June 25th, 2017, 06:28 PM
akurz akurz is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Cadolzburg, Germany
Posts: 93
Hi Steve,

Yes, I've thought about the contradicting values on "original" battery and your plugin, but let's face it: most Homeseer users have already given up on the "original" battery value a long time ago as it's simply not giving any reliable info. The stats in your plugin already help, but wouldn't it be nice to "fix" this issue and give people a value that's actually worth looking at?

Cheers,
Alex

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveMSJ View Post
It's an interesting idea and I will give it some thought.
I also have one or two devices where the reported battery level bounces around or hovers between two values. The trouble is 'what is the true value' and how useful is the reported value anyway?
I have discharge rate alerts turned off for most of my devices and don't pay too much attention to the reported battery levels, although find it interesting to view the history for a device.

It might be confusing to have the plug-in showing a different level to that shown for the actual device but I could possible display two values, the reported value and the baseline value with discharge rates and alerts based on the baseline value. I would probably need to make it configurable for individual devices and also have a reset button.

When I have some time to play around I will see what I can come up with.

Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the z-wave plugin have something against battery status? - Solution! garyd9 HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 79 May 7th, 2017 07:03 PM
Error Ultra1Wire3 ?Plugin Smart Battery Monitor Not all voice recognition aldo Ultra1Wire HSPI 1 January 6th, 2017 08:56 PM
Is there a way to find out the health my Z-Wave network? Agwan HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 0 March 25th, 2015 11:18 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC