www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Thermostat / HVAC Plug-ins > Thermostat / HVAC Discussion > HomeSeer RCS Serial Thermostat Plug-in

HomeSeer RCS Serial Thermostat Plug-in Discussions of the RCS serial thermostat plug-in.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old March 8th, 2017, 06:13 PM
travis.gomillion travis.gomillion is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Florida
Posts: 1
RCSStat Update 3.0.0.14

HomeSeer support confirmed to me that they pulled my changes version 3.0.0.14 of the plugin. You should be able to download this update through the normal updater. Hope it works for everyone. Let me know if you are still having difficulties!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old June 24th, 2017, 06:36 PM
cbryan cbryan is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Amarillo TX
Posts: 233
Travis,

Just checking in with a question.

It doesn't appear that the GitHub fork rewrite (ver 3.0.0.14) supports ZCV zone controllers and the associated addressing (A,Z) that is required.

Is this a correct statement? Please see post below from another thread on this.

Thanks,

Craig



Quote:
Originally Posted by cbryan View Post
Count me in as well for a paid solution.

I had email discussion with Rich mid-March regarding the HS3 non-support of the serial plugin and especially the loss of zone controller function (ZCV4). I have a blended system, two TR40s and a ZCV4 zone controller with four TS40 wall display units (WDU). Early adopted the HS3 software but unable to install without major hardware changes to accommodate the lack of RCS serial support in HS3. In essence would have to replace the existing ZCV4 zone controller with a ZC4 zone controller that supports thermostats rather than WDUs. This would mean the purchase of four zwave stats and the new ZC4 zone controller as well as replacing the two TR40s with two zwave stats (about $1000 worth of new equipment to abandon existing equipment that works fine [well almost] under HS2Pro).

Rich was very upfront that Homeseer did not believe there were enough of us RCS serial users (particularly zone controller users) to justify the development cost of a revamped RCS plugin. He did send the source code but I have not had a chance to look into the project.

The plugin always had difficulty in addressing the zone controller and WDUs behind the controller. RJ reworked the HS2 version several years ago and it did function with the zone controller and WDUs but HSTouch still had several unresolved issues (missing drop down menu options when "designing" a touch thermostat under HSTouch), likely still related to the zone controller addressing issues. Most of the addressing issue was documented in http://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=117708.

The solution was ultimately to address the stats and zone controller/WDUs as follows:

A=address
Z=Zone

A1 is TR40 stat
A2 is TR40 stat
A3 is ZCV4 zone controller, Z1 is WDU zone 1
A3 is ZCV4 zone controller, Z2 is WDU zone 2
A3 is ZCV4 zone controller, Z3 is WDU zone 3
A3 is ZCV4 zone controller, Z4 is WDU zone 4

The outside temp is taken from the sensor connected to the ZCV4 and sent to the TR40 thermostats using the following script:

sub main()
dim customtext, RCS
set RCS=hs.plugin("RCS Serial Thermostats")
call RCS.CmdSetOutsideTemp (1, RCS.GetTemp(3,0))
call RCS.CmdSetOutsideTemp (2, RCS.GetTemp(3,0))

end sub




The remaining HSTouch issues were discussed in paid support with no resolution. The jest of the issue was the drop down menus for WDUs behind the zone controller in the HSTouch designer lacked all of the proper fields to control or display all of the features of the WDU. All features would be present on the thermostats (A1 and A2) but missing when working with the WDUs (A3,Z1 and A3, Z2 and A3,Z3 and A3, Z4).
__________________
Slowly migrating to HS3 (emphasis on slowly)

HS34Pro 3.0.0.280
PlugIns | ZWave, BLRF, BLRadar, JowieHue, VWS, WeatherXML, Jon00 HS3/HS2 Connector

HSPro 2.5.0.80
PlugIns | RCS Serial

Hardware | Windows 10 Pro, Intel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz 32 GBytes, ZNet and Z-Troller (115+ ZWave devices), Way2Call, Ivona voices, EdgePort 8, W800 RF, Vantage Pro, Philips Hue, Schlage, X10 (MS10A. DS10A, SR731), Logitech Alert Cams, Pentair IntelliTouch i10+3D
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old June 25th, 2017, 01:17 PM
cbryan cbryan is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Amarillo TX
Posts: 233
So I have been experimenting with the 3.0.0.14 version now posted and two RCS stand alone stats and a ZCV4 zone controller with four wall display unit stats (WDU) attached. The two stand alone stats are configured as address 1 and 2 with the WDU stats configured as address 3 thru 6.

Turns out the plugin will address stand alone stats and the ZCV4 WDUs and read the data correctly from all devices.

So far there is at least one issue which is the bug in the original HS2 RCS plugin that incorrectly handles setpoints in certain modes see http://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=134464

It may be that the beta version (2.0.4.14) of the HS2 plugin that corrected this is the proper starting point for the GitHub changes.




Jun-25 12:41:04 PM RCSStat DEBUG Writing Data: A=1 SPH=60 SP=60

Jun-25 12:41:04 PM Device Control Device: Downstairs RCS Heat SetPoint to (value) (60) by/from: CAPI Control Handler

Last edited by cbryan; June 25th, 2017 at 01:44 PM. Reason: Added DEBUG log content
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old June 27th, 2017, 12:20 AM
Mountainman Mountainman is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbryan View Post
So far there is at least one issue which is the bug in the original HS2 RCS plugin that incorrectly handles setpoints in certain modes see http://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=134464

It may be that the beta version (2.0.4.14) of the HS2 plugin that corrected this is the proper starting point for the GitHub changes.
I have been using 2.0.4.14 under HS2 for many years now. The setpoint handling works correctly for me. I do not have any zone equipment.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old June 27th, 2017, 08:41 AM
cbryan cbryan is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Amarillo TX
Posts: 233
That was my point. The HS3 version 3.0.0.14 was apparently built off code that had the "SP" bug in it that was fixed in the HS2 version 2.0.4.14. So the bug has crept back in to the current HS3 version in the updater.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old October 27th, 2017, 04:42 PM
Dan Halverson Dan Halverson is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacobst1 View Post
So Travis G fixed the plugin. Great job. It works on my system too. I haven't heard of anyone that it hasn't worked.
//github.com/palemouse/HSPI_RCSSERIAL/blob/master/bin/HSPI_RCSSERIAL.exe

Does anyone know if Homeseer will put this fix on the download page for plugins? Also I put this on my system. but it tells me I have a 30 day trial now. Anyone know how to fix that?
I just tried installing the EXE and I'm getting the same 30 day trial message. Did you find a way to resolve this?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem communicating with ISY jwshome2 ISY Plug-in Beta (3P) 3 December 24th, 2015 12:02 PM
ad2serial not communicating with HS ClemsonJeeper Vista Alarm Plug-in (3P) 6 April 18th, 2013 05:23 PM
Third 2Gig Thermistat Doesn't show on ZWStat_Status - Fixed! smcwilliams ZWave 13 November 4th, 2011 07:38 AM
Thermostat Not Communicating S Garman RCS X-10 13 July 13th, 2008 07:27 PM
worked for a while, now not communicating completelyhis HomeSeer UPB Plug-In (Beta) 9 May 25th, 2007 11:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC