www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Thermostat / HVAC Plug-ins > Thermostat / HVAC Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old January 2nd, 2018, 04:54 PM
Richel Richel is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Florida, USA
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerfern View Post
The Honeywell plug-in I use just logs into my Honeywell account to make changes. So it is still cloud dependent.

However, I prefer that over a "dumb" z-wave thermostat that relies on HS3 to be up and running. The chances are small that HS3 will crash, but if the thermostat relies on HS3 for a schedule then that can be a problem.

My wifi enabled thermostat will still function on its own without any outside input. I might not be able to make changes, but at least it's up and running as long as the power is on.
Good point. What wifi thermostat do you have/
Thanks,
Elliott
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old January 2nd, 2018, 05:19 PM
TeleFragger's Avatar
TeleFragger TeleFragger is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 4,794
I have this one..
works great and HS controls it all so I don't actually touch it. love it
Honeywell zstat

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005EJ7YO2...a-353341205455
__________________
HW - i5 4570T @2.9ghz runs @11w | 8gb ram | 128gb ssd OS - Win10 x64

HS - HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.435

Plugins - BLRF 2.0.94.0 | Concord 4 3.1.13.10 | HSBuddy 3.9.605.5 | HSTouch Server 3.0.0.68 | RFXCOM 30.0.0.36 | X10 3.0.0.36 | Z-Wave 3.0.1.190

Hardware - EdgePort/4 DB9 Serial | RFXCOM 433MHz USB Transceiver | Superbus 2000 for Concord 4 | TI103 X-10 Interface | WGL Designs W800 RF | Z-Net Z-Wave Interface
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old January 2nd, 2018, 07:12 PM
racerfern racerfern is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 851
And I have two of these. Easy to program right on the t'stat, through HS or through the Honeywell website.

https://www.amazon.com/Honeywell-RTH...ifi+thermostat

Just remember, you need the "C" wire for these new fangled thermostats or you need battery backup. The z-wave ones may have battery backup, the wifi one I have from Honeywell and most newer t'stats REQUIRE a "C" wire. I had to run a separate wire to each of my older t'stats. Not fun.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old January 2nd, 2018, 10:30 PM
Kerat Kerat is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Colorado USA
Posts: 745
Wi-Fi (Cloud) vs Z-Wave Thermostat

I have a TRANE XR524 and it works well on Zwave. I have had to re-synch the device once with the HS3 Zwave controller to get the thermostat to display the right time (stupid DST). This has only happened once in the last 1.5 years. The thing I like about it is that I set temp defaults in the device. These take over in the event that HS3 goes down. Then I set my events to proc after the built in settings.

I just setup a Honeywell 9K wifi at my sister's new house and found the setup straight forward. The only thing I can think you would need to automate would be integrating custom events based on active detection of home/away.

The Honeywell even has a skill of their own. So integrating voice commands can be done without HS3. Do note that they are cloud supported. So there is some risk to brute force attacks. You end up needing the plugin for HS3. You need Internet for connectivity between:
1. HS3 and the thermostat.
2. The thermostat and the Honeywell cloud service.
is reliant on your internet connection.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by Kerat; January 2nd, 2018 at 10:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HomeSeer in the Cloud charlesmbell HomeSeer General Discussion Area 18 March 21st, 2018 05:47 PM
Cloud help new 960 integlikewhoa BLRoombaWifi (3P) 9 October 10th, 2017 01:41 AM
What info is in the cloud? Rvtravlr PHLocation Plug-in (3P) 1 May 11th, 2017 12:21 AM
Cloud storage - yes or no TeleFragger Off Topic 17 December 20th, 2016 05:56 PM
Cloud Hosting rrepic HomeSeer General Discussion Area 10 July 24th, 2014 10:46 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC