www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Thermostat / HVAC Plug-ins > Thermostat / HVAC Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 5th, 2017, 12:38 AM
Jack Jack is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Quebec
Posts: 20
Stelpro ZWave Thermostats anyone?

I am getting ready to change all my baseboard thermostats from basic thermostats to Stelpro Wave STZW402+. At the same time I am planning to upgrade my home automation by adding the Zee S2 to my existing Elk M1. There are not many choices for 220V baseboard heaters. Sinope has interesting stuff and Stelpro has their KI (zwave) and are coming out with a new product that will have its own propriety controller, although it seems that t will be base on Zigbee. In my case I want open standard and full control without a cloud service

Question
Anyone using a Stelpro KI with Zee S2 combination? I am more into knowing if the Econo mode will work remotely. Also with the basic Zwave plugin I suspect that in HS my thermostats will all appear with fan and cooling buttons. All I need is temperature setting and econo mode. Any recommendations? As this will be used at my country house I will be using rules and want various preset settings
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 9th, 2018, 10:38 PM
emiliosic emiliosic is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Wakefield, MA, US
Posts: 45
Works well

I'm using a Stelpro thermostat with a 220v (110+2 without neutral) baseboard, and works fine.
It's Z-Wave plus, paired without issues, works reliably and instant response works as expected.
HS3 doesn't have specific support for this thermostat. It knows it's a heat-only thermostat, there are no fan controls.
HS3 can set it to either 'heat' or 'Energy Save Heat' mode, and a setting for the temperature.

HS3 can see the temperature it's set to, if it's on or off, and temperature sensor from the thermostat.

I used the thermostat with a Vera, then with HS3 with USB and then I replaced it with a Z-Net, so I don't think you should have any issues connecting it.

Caveat: There is a setting on the thermostat to display external/outside temperature. HS3 does not do that, so I disabled it on the thermostat.
Also note that the thermostat regulates power to the the baseboard. It has three settings low, med, high, so it might not work with other devices.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack View Post
I am getting ready to change all my baseboard thermostats from basic thermostats to Stelpro Wave STZW402+. At the same time I am planning to upgrade my home automation by adding the Zee S2 to my existing Elk M1. There are not many choices for 220V baseboard heaters. Sinope has interesting stuff and Stelpro has their KI (zwave) and are coming out with a new product that will have its own propriety controller, although it seems that t will be base on Zigbee. In my case I want open standard and full control without a cloud service

Question
Anyone using a Stelpro KI with Zee S2 combination? I am more into knowing if the Econo mode will work remotely. Also with the basic Zwave plugin I suspect that in HS my thermostats will all appear with fan and cooling buttons. All I need is temperature setting and econo mode. Any recommendations? As this will be used at my country house I will be using rules and want various preset settings
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 10th, 2018, 12:18 AM
jeubanks jeubanks is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by emiliosic View Post
I'm using a Stelpro thermostat with a 220v (110+2 without neutral) baseboard, and works fine.
It's Z-Wave plus, paired without issues, works reliably and instant response works as expected.
HS3 doesn't have specific support for this thermostat. It knows it's a heat-only thermostat, there are no fan controls.
HS3 can set it to either 'heat' or 'Energy Save Heat' mode, and a setting for the temperature.

HS3 can see the temperature it's set to, if it's on or off, and temperature sensor from the thermostat.

I used the thermostat with a Vera, then with HS3 with USB and then I replaced it with a Z-Net, so I don't think you should have any issues connecting it.

Caveat: There is a setting on the thermostat to display external/outside temperature. HS3 does not do that, so I disabled it on the thermostat.
Also note that the thermostat regulates power to the the baseboard. It has three settings low, med, high, so it might not work with other devices.
I can second the info on the StelPro.... I have 6 of them and going to be adding a 7th.... So. Yes they work and I've had no problems with them. I've used them with SmartThings, Vera, Home Assistant and now HS3 with a USB stick. In the future a z-net will be added into the mix and I don't expect any problems. As already mentioned the "outside temp" virtual temperature doesn't (currently) work with HS3, but that's the only thing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostats zwave vs wifi gd1210 HomeSeer General Discussion Area 5 May 25th, 2016 03:39 AM
HSTouch & ZWave Thermostats Sireone HS3/PRO Beta Releases 5 June 10th, 2014 01:15 PM
Zwave or wifi thermostats wpiman Thermostat / HVAC Discussion 15 May 31st, 2012 05:40 PM
Zwave thermostats due out 1Q05 AutomatedOutlet HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 26 April 14th, 2005 05:25 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC