www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Thermostat / HVAC Plug-ins > Thermostat / HVAC Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 8th, 2017, 05:59 PM
adamgreenberg adamgreenberg is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 108
ge toggle switch for furnace

I am looking to add z wave control to my furnace disconnect switch.

https://www.thespruce.com/what-is-a-...switch-1152668

In my furnace room, there is a switch that I can flip to turn off the furnace. I presume this switch is there in order to allow someone to easily turn off the furnace if they need to for some reason in addition to or instead of cutting power at the breaker.

Opening up the switch, it looks to be a simple light switch with two black wires (load and line) and there is also a white neutral tucked away in the box.

Can I replace the switch with a ge toggle z wave switch?

https://byjasco.com/products/ge-z-wa...h-white-toggle

Should I be using an in-wall z-wave relay instead?

Is there some reason I shouldn't be providing this type of control in this manner?

See some pics below of the current switch setup
Attached Images
   
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 8th, 2017, 06:55 PM
TeleFragger's Avatar
TeleFragger TeleFragger is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 4,794
looks like just a normal switch. I don't see why you couldn't do that.

fyi if you don't have the GE switch in your possession yet, I recommend Zooz Zen23 on/off switches ($15 cheaper!!!) and not that you have a 3 way there but if it was you don't need an aux switch!!!! I'm planning on buying 4 on the first of every month till ive got them all in.. z-wave+ too!!!! ive already got 4 of them now!
__________________
HW - i5 4570T @2.9ghz runs @11w | 8gb ram | 128gb ssd OS - Win10 x64

HS - HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.435

Plugins - BLRF 2.0.94.0 | Concord 4 3.1.13.10 | HSBuddy 3.9.605.5 | HSTouch Server 3.0.0.68 | RFXCOM 30.0.0.36 | X10 3.0.0.36 | Z-Wave 3.0.1.190

Hardware - EdgePort/4 DB9 Serial | RFXCOM 433MHz USB Transceiver | Superbus 2000 for Concord 4 | TI103 X-10 Interface | WGL Designs W800 RF | Z-Net Z-Wave Interface
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 9th, 2017, 12:42 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 15,285
It is just a low AC voltage switch to control the high voltage AC on the furnace motherboard.

You can purchase a decora metal cover for the box versus a toggle cover and just go to a decora switch.

Keep it to a hard on and off switch versus a dimming switch whatever you utilize.

As you mention it is used for service of your furnace. I shut it off when cleaning or changing air filters in the furnace or air cleaner here or the HVAC guy shuts it off for service.

Personally I see no purpose in automating this switch as it is only utilized for servicing the furnace. It should not be utilized for control of the furnace.

Accidentally remotely toggling the switch off will disable your thermostat and can cause low WAF.
__________________
- Pete

Automator

HS3 Pro & Lite Edition Beta 3.0.0.435

HS3 Wintel Touch | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins | Speech - Microsoft SAPI - Neospeech - Amazon Echo | Hardware | Haswell Intel iSeries 3 - 16Gb | Pine64 - 2Gb computers | Openpeak Intel Atom SoC tabletop touchscreens (15 HS tabletop tablets) | Touchscreens - Windows embedded POE connected |Light switches - X10,UPB, ZWave and Zigbee | Firewall - PFSense - 2 WAN plus 4 LAN interfaces | Network - Gb managed switches / POE WAP(s) | CCTV - Zoneminder IPHD cams - variety | Audio - Russound - AB8SS | Security - Leviton HAI Omni Pro 2 | Weather - Davis Vantage Vue - MeteoStick - WeeWx | 1-Wire - AAG, Midon and HB | OWFS - Mosquitto - Node Red - Python - RPi Stretch - OpenWRT
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 9th, 2017, 05:47 PM
adamgreenberg adamgreenberg is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 108
I am not using this method to control my furnace as a regular course of my heating and cooling.

The reason I am looking to automate this is because I am participating in the ohmconnect program https://ohmconnect.com/

I have been doing the program for about 6 months now and about once per week for one hour there is an 'ohmhour' for which I receive cash based on how much energy I use less than my forecast (which is based on actual energy usage at that time of day on previous days). I am finding the program quite lucrative and am trying to maximize my earnings.

I am leveraging my home automation system to conserve energy (turning off lights, turning off thermostat, turning off computers, turning off extra freezer etc...) during that hour.

Turning off my thermostat does not reduce the power that my furnace is using to nothing. It still uses a fair bit. My thinking is that putting z wave control on that switch would enable me to turn it off and then back on automatically for that hour as part of the events that I have programmed.

My concern (for which I still have to do some research) is that using this switch once a week could cause undue stress or damage to the motherboard of the furnace. That would of course be problematic. If anyone has an opinion on that particular issue, please weigh in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
zwave toggle style switch brands and models... TeleFragger HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 7 October 5th, 2016 01:00 PM
Furnace question afmiller Thermostat / HVAC Discussion 2 December 18th, 2011 11:04 AM
Using 2 thermostats on the same furnace skozin Sage Insteon Thermostat Plug-in 5 January 30th, 2011 02:02 PM
toggle style switch that will work with CF TeleFragger HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 5 September 29th, 2008 08:36 PM
Anyone using a 3-way toggle-style switch? Want2BACustomer HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 3 January 5th, 2008 09:06 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC