www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > 3rd Party Plug-Ins/Scripts > Plug-ins by Author > Click Here for List of Author Forums > Ultra Scripts and Plug-Ins > UltraLog HSPI

UltraLog HSPI Discussion area for the UltraLog, HomeSeer database logging plug-in.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 14th, 2018, 11:00 AM
smith smith is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: US
Posts: 19
Is Remote Logging to an external syslog working?

Ultrajones,
I am having an issue with sending HS log data to a remote syslog server.
HS3, UltraLog 3.0.6644.26753.

Under Options, I have "Enable Remote Logging On Startup" set to yes, facility is local1, logging severity is debug, and the TCP port is 514.

I have a syslog server that I've confirmed is listening on TCP/514 and can receive messages from other devices. But I see nothing populated from Ultralog, even after rebooting Homeseer.

I have the Ultralog syslog server disabled ("Enable Syslog On Startup" is set to no).

Can you provide any suggestions on how to troubleshoot this further?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 14th, 2018, 08:28 PM
Ultrajones's Avatar
Ultrajones Ultrajones is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Michigan, US
Posts: 5,758
Only one host can connect to TCP port 514. Can you connect to your syslog receiver to confirm no other hosts are connected to the TCP port?

Linux Example:

netstat -an | grep "514"

Windows Example:

netstat -an | find "514"

Regards,
Ultrajones
__________________
Plug-ins: UltraMon, UltraM1G, UltraCID, Ultra1Wire, UltraLog, UltraWeatherBug, UltraPioneerAVR, UltraGCIR
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 28th, 2018, 03:30 PM
BigBadBuzz's Avatar
BigBadBuzz BigBadBuzz is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: New England
Posts: 103
Ultra:

I'm trying out UltraLog3 due to issues with another Syslog plugin that seems to only be partially working now. HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.428 (Linux) is running on a Lubuntu 16.04 LTS-based server. I have your plugin configured to use TCP port 601 for sending Remote Logs; I do not have the Syslog server function enabled. From a terminal prompt on that Linux server I can type to send test message to my Syslog server:

Code:
nc -w0 synds1515 601 <<< "<14>TCP User Info msg from `hostname` on `date`"
With the 'synds1515' host being my Syslog server - it receives those test messages; yet it does not receive anything from UltraLog3. Do you have any suggestions as to what I might try?

Regards,
BBB
__________________
Software: HS3 Pro 3.0.0.428 on Lubuntu Linux 16.04 LTS
Enabled Plug-Ins:
2.0.54.0: BLBackup
2.0.16.0: BLRoombaWifi
3.0.0.44: EasyTrigger
3.0.0.6: Log2Syslog
3.1.0.22: Sonos
3.0.6551.16959: UltraGCIR3
3.0.6551.16372: UltraM1G3
3.0.6413.20219: UltraNetCam3
3.0.0.83: weatherXML
3.0.1.190: Z-Wave
Hardware: Z-Net; Elk M1G; Sonos; Global Cache IP2IR; Leviton Vizia RF+ Z-Wave switches, dimmers, scene controllers & plug-in switches/dimmers; RCS TR60 RS-485 thermostats.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 29th, 2018, 10:07 AM
Ultrajones's Avatar
Ultrajones Ultrajones is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Michigan, US
Posts: 5,758
Try a telnet command from your HomeSeer system to the syslog server to make sure it's not a firewall port that needs to be open. You just need to confirm it's connecting. If that works, then try restarting the plug-in.

Regards,
Ultrajones
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 30th, 2018, 08:42 PM
BigBadBuzz's Avatar
BigBadBuzz BigBadBuzz is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: New England
Posts: 103
UltraJones:

Restarting the plugin did the trick - should have thought of that myself. I found that it did not work by configuring with the hostname of the syslog server - I had to provide the IP address.

Regards,
BBB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
remote access to HSTouch server, static external IP lifespeed HS3Touch™ 42 June 21st, 2017 04:14 PM
Logging commands from Jasco 45608 remote hankli Z-Troller™ 1 November 26th, 2011 11:50 PM
'Normal Logging' not working - Insteon PLM 1.1.50.17994, HS2 v.66 mheil Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 1 August 15th, 2008 11:32 PM
Remote NR's not working chadg HSGirder, NetRemote, NetTouchPad Discussions 3 June 25th, 2006 10:05 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC