www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Wireless Receiver & Transceiver Plug-ins > Wireless Receiver & Transceiver Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 28th, 2014, 11:15 PM
gfs's Avatar
gfs gfs is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 724
extend w800 range?

i have the antenna on my second floor. and the signal works better down, ie on the first floor, than across on rooms in the second floor. anything i can do?
do people ever use two units? if i mount in attic do i lose the first floor range?
__________________
HS3 , Zwave, HometrollerS6, ELK M1G Ultra; mcs sprinklers; WGL800; BLRF; BLNetCallerID; BLSpeech
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 29th, 2014, 01:28 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,270
I have two antennas and two W800's configured today.

One is in the attic inverted and the other one is the stock W800 antenna on the main floor.

I probably would be OK with the one in the attic only.
Attached Images
 
__________________
- Pete

Automator

HS3 Pro & Lite
Edition Beta 3.0.0.387 | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 29th, 2014, 07:09 AM
Rotech's Avatar
Rotech Rotech is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 4,246
I have mine in the attic, ever since it lives there I get the best reception. Mine is also inverted.
__________________
Hector
____________________________________
Win.2003 OS, HS3
BLDSC,BLstat,BLRadar,BLRamdom,BLOccupied
BLups,BLrain8,HSTouch,Ultrajones Weatherbug,
MyTrigger,ACRF2,W800,Zwave
AP800,Honeywell Stat
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 29th, 2014, 09:10 AM
Automated Automated is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,190
I have one in the attic, that covers the whole two story house just fine. It is mounted normally; no inversion here.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 29th, 2014, 09:33 AM
gfs's Avatar
gfs gfs is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 724
Is there a cat 5 to coax solution. I have cat 5 in attic but no coax. A balun?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 29th, 2014, 10:43 AM
mfisher's Avatar
mfisher mfisher is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ventura County, CA, USA
Posts: 1,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfs View Post
Is there a cat 5 to coax solution. I have cat 5 in attic but no coax. A balun?
In that case you might conisder moving your W800 and antenna to the attic. Wire up simple DB9 to RJ-45 adapters (male for one end and female for the other) and include DC power in the cable. If I remember correctly, the W800 uses only Tx, Rx and Gnd (3 wires) so the others can be used for power. Remember to keep this cable run completely separated from any other cables (data or power) to avoid interference. Also, RS-232 is really only reliable out to about 50 feet of cable, so if your run is longer than that you may want to consider using RS422 adapters or an ethernet device server (which provides an RS232 port via ethernet.)
__________________
Best regards,
-Mark-

If you're not out on the edge, you're taking up too much room!
Interested in 3D maps? Check out my company site: Solid Terrain Modeling
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 29th, 2014, 12:06 PM
gfs's Avatar
gfs gfs is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 724
its a run from my basement to the attic -- 2 floors plus basement, 3 stories... into attic. i have had the 800 in the basement at my panel. and coax to the second floor. i have one of those spyder style antennas. i will try to get a coax run or equivalent up to the attic. is there any difference if i have the wgl up there vs down in the basement?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 29th, 2014, 12:37 PM
gfs's Avatar
gfs gfs is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 724
would something like this work?
https://www.123securityproducts.com/...dODhoCrM7w_wcB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 29th, 2014, 03:15 PM
TeleFragger's Avatar
TeleFragger TeleFragger is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 4,706
how far are you guys expecting range?
i have one in my basement... but laying in the 1st floor rafters... and i can use a palmpad from my neighbors... oh 3 houses away....
__________________
HW - i5 4570T @2.9ghz runs @11w | 8gb ram | 128gb ssd OS - Win10 x64

HS - HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.368

Plugins - BLLAN 2.0.38.0 | BLRF 2.0.93.0 | Concord 4 3.1.13.8 | HSTouch Server 3.0.0.68 | RFXCOM 30.0.0.36 | X10 3.0.0.36 | Z-Wave 3.0.1.150

Hardware - EdgePort/4 DB9 Serial | RFXCOM 433MHz USB Transceiver | Superbus 2000 for Concord 4 | TI103 X-10 Interface | WGL Designs W800 RF | Z-Net Z-Wave Interface
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 29th, 2014, 03:18 PM
gfs's Avatar
gfs gfs is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 724
wow then i must be doing something wrong. cause i cant get it 50 feet from an exposed antenna laterally... all i want to do is reach through my house... 2 floors... antenna is on a bookshelf on second floor. works on first floor. but doesnt go 50 feet left or right on second floor.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old July 29th, 2014, 03:43 PM
Automated Automated is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,190
Objects like a bookcase, and wall in the near field the antenna are likely the problem. Get it up in the open, and it will do better. It could also be the building itself is not RF friendly at that frequency for a variety of reasons.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Increasing the W800 range chadg ACRF Processor (3P) 11 April 4th, 2007 02:05 PM
W800 Range ljames28 General Home Automation Hardware Discussion 2 February 19th, 2006 07:07 PM
need to increase the range of my w800 antenna bjj W800 RF Receiver (3P) 9 February 7th, 2004 04:30 PM
KR22E + W800 range jaak W800 RF Receiver (3P) 5 October 19th, 2003 05:44 AM
How to extend a USB webcam PSYCHOTIC Web Server and Interface 9 August 6th, 2002 07:01 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC