www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Internet or Network Related Plug-ins > Internet or Network Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 24th, 2016, 05:54 PM
Hallager Hallager is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: DK
Posts: 3
HomeSeer as a UI layer. receive and send ASCII and JSON

Hello everybody, I'm new here and am looking forward to working with HomeSeer

I've got a client who wants a plugin for HomeSeer. I know nothing about HomeSeer and he is aware of it.

I seek your help to keep me on the right path. The second problem is that I can not VB.NET but C# I am good at. It should not be a problem,
I can probably figure it out. but if you have the choice to help me in C# I appreciate it.



The task is that I need to use the HomeSeer as a UI layer.
I need it to receive and send two languages ASCII and JSON.
It will receive commands that will then switch state of a device in the UI.
If you switch state of a device in HomeSeer, it should then send ASCII or JSON back.

I am aware that HomeSeer can receive JSON so here are some of the problem solved, I hope.

I hope you can help me to get started.

Best regards,
Johan
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 24th, 2016, 07:40 PM
rmasonjr's Avatar
rmasonjr rmasonjr is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brookhaven, MS USA
Posts: 6,526
HS won't be able to just send JSON data based on a value change. You would have to invoke it from the client side. A plugin implements a callback where every device change is picked up immediately by the plugin. You also get much more flexibility out of a plugin with your own actions, triggers and conditions. Also, you can encapsulate your web ui in the plugin itself.
Just something to think about.

Sent from my SCH-R970X using Tapatalk
__________________

HS3Pro Running on a Raspberry Pi2 (Raspbian)
64 Z-Wave Nodes, 162 Events, 293 Devices
UPB modules via OMNI plugin/panel
Plugins: Z-Wave, BLRF, OMNI, HSTouch, weatherXML, EasyTrigger
HSTouch Clients: 3 Android, 1 Joggler
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 25th, 2016, 04:52 AM
Hallager Hallager is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: DK
Posts: 3
rmasonjr Thanks for the answer.

Where would you say I have to start making a plugin in visual studio?
And do you know of some good tutorials? I've tried to find some without much success, a bit of code here and there.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
ascii, json

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JSON VS ASCII CPU loading? drozwood90 HomeTroller Zee 2 May 11th, 2016 10:19 AM
Can HomeSeer Receive And Send Keyboard Commands? aslamma HomeSeer General Discussion Area 8 March 27th, 2010 12:04 AM
IR Send/Receive connection to Homeseer pgpc1 UK/Europe 4 July 8th, 2005 08:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC