www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler)

Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) Discussions related to Mark Sandler's 3rd parth plug-in for controlling Insteon devices via Smarthome's PLM interfaces (the 2412 & 2413 series controllers)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101  
Old May 2nd, 2017, 12:37 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,699
posted 3.0.6.14 to the Updater in the Beta section
__________________
Mark

HS3 Pro 3.0.0.368
Hardware: Insteon Serial PLM | Vista Alarm 20P with AD2USB | HAI Omnistat2 | 1-Wire HA7E | RFXrec433 | Dahua Cameras | LiftMaster Internet Gateway
Plugins: Insteon (mine) | Vista Alarm (mine) | Omnistat 3 (by Kirby) | Ultra1Wire3 | RFXCOM | NetCAM | MyQ | BLRadar | BLDenon | Jon00 Charting
Platform: HP h8-1360t, Windows Server 2012 R2, i7-3.4GHz, 16GB memory
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old May 2nd, 2017, 01:49 PM
codemonkey's Avatar
codemonkey codemonkey is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern California
Posts: 599
only see .13

Never mind. The list didn't update the first time. :/
__________________
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Pro Edition
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Processor Type and Speed: i7 - 3.26 GHz
Total Physical Memory: 16Gig

Plugins: BlBackup | EasyTrigger | FitbitSeer | HSTouchServer | Insteon | WeatherXML
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old May 2nd, 2017, 01:50 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by codemonkey View Post
only see .13
hit update to refresh
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old May 2nd, 2017, 04:02 PM
claude claude is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montréal, Qc. Canada
Posts: 1,026
Mark,

Many thanks for the work on .14

Observations/questions after .14; some of these points may be earlier than .14:

1. Heartbeat values are not logged (light level, temperature, battery level), although they do change the status of HS3 devices; just logging the raw hex data would be useful
2. Occupancy Sensor messages get logged but the status of that device in HS3 does not; the time stamp for me on the HS3 device management page is last evening; this coincides with a change of configuration where I set the mode to Occupancy II (under .13)
3. Occupancy II in my experience triggers only On messages and no Off. The info (?) for Mode says of Occupancy II that "Off is set on a different group": can you expand on that?
4. Dusk/dawn messages do not get logged, nor does the HS3 device get updated
5. Vacancy mode: is it correct to assume that links defined for that MS II will be ignored (MS II won't broadcast) ?
6. Security mode: isn't this the same as Occupancy II except subsequent motions don't trigger On messages?
7. Assuming any blink on the MS II is motion detection, not all of them trigger a message logged; can anybody else confirm this?
8. Noticed that PIRDelay parameter went from =3 to =0; can you expand on this parameter?


Note: all testing done on USB power.

insteon,ini for that device:
[Device 25]
DeviceID=41.5C.CC
DeviceName=MS2
DeviceLocation=[2:S. TV]
DeviceType=1016
FirmwareVer=46
DatabaseDelta=25
LinksDownloaded=1
PollingInterval=0
Protocol=3
EEValues=Mode=16,PIRDelay=0,HeartbeatInterval=1,LowBatteryLe vel=133,TempCalibration=0,PowerSource=USB,OpFlags2=69,TempSc ale=C,LEDBrightness=0
LastContact=4/18/2017 3:24:41 PM
NumLinks=6
RecentDatabaseDelta=25
TotalInteractions=53
FailedInteractions=1
HopData=907,895,10,2
ChannelName1=MS2 Occupancy Sensor
ChannelName2=MS2 Dusk/Dawn Sensor
ChannelName3=MS2 Low Battery Warning
ChannelName4=MS2 Heartbeat
ChannelName5=MS2 Tamper Switch
ChannelName6=MS2 Battery Level
ChannelName7=MS2 Temperature
ChannelName8=MS2 Light Level
SyncLinkedDevices=0
Link 1=E2 01 1E 9E CF 00 00 01 1
Link 2=E2 02 1E 9E CF 00 00 02 2
Link 3=E2 03 1E 9E CF 00 00 03 3
Link 4=E2 04 1E 9E CF 00 00 04 4
Link 5=E2 10 1E 9E CF 00 00 10 5
Link 6=E2 0B 1E 9E CF 00 00 0B 6

Last edited by mnsandler; May 3rd, 2017 at 06:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old May 3rd, 2017, 12:45 AM
claude claude is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montréal, Qc. Canada
Posts: 1,026
Mark,

I'm getting inconsistent results from this MS II (41.5C.CC). As I've mentioned before, the MS II blinks on motion, but there is not always a corresponding log entry. So I ran a trace for a while of the XML responses from the hub.

I found that some of the motion blinks apparently do not generate a corresponding response when you poll the hub (no buffer referencing my MS II). But I also found some buffers referencing the MS II for which the plugin did not generate a log entry. Here's an example:
Time stamp : 00:00:46.587031
0250415CCC000001CF1101000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 000000000000000000000000000000
Time stamp : 00:00:47.590418
0250415CCC000001CF11010250415CCC000101CF11010250415CCC110001CF06000000000000000000000000000000000000
Time stamp : 00:00:48.591507
0250415CCC110001CB0600000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 000000000000000000000000000000

Do you see anything out of the ordinary here? Driving me nuts!

P.S. I saved the entire WireShark trace if it's of any use.
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old May 3rd, 2017, 07:02 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by claude View Post
Mark,

1. Heartbeat values are not logged (light level, temperature, battery level), although they do change the status of HS3 devices; just logging the raw hex data would be useful
2. Occupancy Sensor messages get logged but the status of that device in HS3 does not; the time stamp for me on the HS3 device management page is last evening; this coincides with a change of configuration where I set the mode to Occupancy II (under .13)
3. Occupancy II in my experience triggers only On messages and no Off. The info (?) for Mode says of Occupancy II that "Off is set on a different group": can you expand on that?
4. Dusk/dawn messages do not get logged, nor does the HS3 device get updated
5. Vacancy mode: is it correct to assume that links defined for that MS II will be ignored (MS II won't broadcast) ?
6. Security mode: isn't this the same as Occupancy II except subsequent motions don't trigger On messages?
7. Assuming any blink on the MS II is motion detection, not all of them trigger a message logged; can anybody else confirm this?
8. Noticed that PIRDelay parameter went from =3 to =0; can you expand on this parameter?
1. enabled detailed logging and let me know
2. not every flash results in a broadcast message
3. i'll have to review this feature
4. enabled detailed logging and let me know
5. haven't tested this mode myself
6. I think occupancy mode II continues to send ONs whereas Security only sends an ON once
7. see #2 above
8. I don't believe I changed anything regarding this setting in v.14
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old May 3rd, 2017, 07:05 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by claude View Post
Mark,

I'm getting inconsistent results from this MS II (41.5C.CC). As I've mentioned before, the MS II blinks on motion, but there is not always a corresponding log entry. So I ran a trace for a while of the XML responses from the hub.

I found that some of the motion blinks apparently do not generate a corresponding response when you poll the hub (no buffer referencing my MS II). But I also found some buffers referencing the MS II for which the plugin did not generate a log entry. Here's an example:
Time stamp : 00:00:46.587031
0250415CCC000001CF1101000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 000000000000000000000000000000
Time stamp : 00:00:47.590418
0250415CCC000001CF11010250415CCC000101CF11010250415CCC110001CF06000000000000000000000000000000000000
Time stamp : 00:00:48.591507
0250415CCC110001CB0600000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 000000000000000000000000000000

Do you see anything out of the ordinary here? Driving me nuts!

P.S. I saved the entire WireShark trace if it's of any use.

do you have a detailed hs log corresponding to the same time frame?
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old May 3rd, 2017, 04:56 PM
claude claude is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montréal, Qc. Canada
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
do you have a detailed hs log corresponding to the same time frame?
I've attached 2 files:
1- Extract from WireShark, filtered on HTTP packets only between my hub and the plugin host; the original file is still available, but it's 50MB
2- Extract from the HS3 log, filtered on entries containing 'MS2'

Several packets show a command-1 of 11 (assuming On for MS); two of those do not appear in the HS3 log: packet# 26964 (duplicate 27003), 112874 (duplicate 112912). I'm making assumptions here, wish I had the dev notes.

This may be useful to complement another thread on duplicates. What we know for sure is that the hub does send out those duplicates. I haven't checked if those duplicates were due to buffer requests by the plugin. I can post the 50MB on some cloud for you to get access if you want.

P.S. Apologies, I posted the wrong entries in my previous post.
Attached Files
File Type: txt WiereShark trace of 415CCC.txt (24.8 KB, 2 views)
File Type: txt HS3 log of 415CCC.txt (1.4 KB, 2 views)
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old May 3rd, 2017, 04:58 PM
claude claude is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montréal, Qc. Canada
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
8. I don't believe I changed anything regarding this setting in v.14
What is the function of the PIRDelay parameter?
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old May 3rd, 2017, 05:08 PM
claude claude is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montréal, Qc. Canada
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by claude View Post
...1. Heartbeat values are not logged (light level, temperature, battery level), although they do change the status of HS3 devices; just logging the raw hex data would be useful
Mark,

I set debug to detailed and the next MS II heartbeat was logged, for the first time; heartbeat set at 23 min. I'll test this further and report later.
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old May 3rd, 2017, 05:13 PM
claude claude is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montréal, Qc. Canada
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
...
2. not every flash results in a broadcast message
I know you get drilled with many questions, but you're the only source of knowledge

Assuming it flashes because it detects motion, not sending out a message every time is puzzling. Under what circumstances would it not broadcast?
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old May 3rd, 2017, 06:01 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by claude View Post
What is the function of the PIRDelay parameter?
its the timeout setting
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old May 3rd, 2017, 06:03 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by claude View Post
I know you get drilled with many questions, but you're the only source of knowledge

Assuming it flashes because it detects motion, not sending out a message every time is puzzling. Under what circumstances would it not broadcast?
mode depending,

in occupancy mode typically it only sends On msgs after the timeout and an Off is sent.

in occupancy mode ii it may send more On msgs regardless of the timeout;
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old May 4th, 2017, 03:55 PM
jono jono is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 502
Hi Mark
Just got my motion sensor II today. The only thing I have noticed so far is the plug-in status page icon for the battery level of "Good" is broken. The png file does not exist, even after a reinstallation of the latest beta. Can you please add the png file to the next beta? Of if the problem is my set up, could you please direct me to a new copy of the file?
Thanks
Jono
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old May 4th, 2017, 04:11 PM
codemonkey's Avatar
codemonkey codemonkey is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern California
Posts: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by jono View Post
Hi Mark
Just got my motion sensor II today. The only thing I have noticed so far is the plug-in status page icon for the battery level of "Good" is broken. The png file does not exist, even after a reinstallation of the latest beta. Can you please add the png file to the next beta? Of if the problem is my set up, could you please direct me to a new copy of the file?
Thanks
Jono
See post 71 for the resolution.

Tony
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old May 4th, 2017, 04:31 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by jono View Post
Hi Mark
Just got my motion sensor II today. The only thing I have noticed so far is the plug-in status page icon for the battery level of "Good" is broken. The png file does not exist, even after a reinstallation of the latest beta. Can you please add the png file to the next beta? Of if the problem is my set up, could you please direct me to a new copy of the file?
Thanks
Jono
i've updated the install package
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old May 4th, 2017, 05:13 PM
claude claude is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montréal, Qc. Canada
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by claude View Post
Mark,

I set debug to detailed and the next MS II heartbeat was logged, for the first time; heartbeat set at 23 min. I'll test this further and report later.
Testing on May 3rd, here are my findings:
  • 17:21 Setting debug mode to 'detailed': got 18 heartbeats logged, of which 8 were duplicate log entries; heartbeats, set at 23 min., actually come every 20-21 min., the last being at 20:24
  • 20:31 Setting debug mode to 'normal': no logging of heartbeats
Here are the EEValues used:
EEValues=Mode=0,PIRDelay=0,HeartbeatInterval=1,LowBatteryLev el=133,TempCalibration=0,PowerSource=USB,OpFlags2=87,TempSca le=C,LEDBrightness=0
I can make the log available on request.

The time stamp (last change) on the HS3 device management page gets updated.
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old May 4th, 2017, 05:15 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by claude View Post
Testing on May 3rd, here are my findings:
  • 17:21 Setting debug mode to 'detailed': got 18 heartbeats logged, of which 8 were duplicate log entries; heartbeats, set at 23 min., actually come every 20-21 min., the last being at 20:24
  • 20:31 Setting debug mode to 'normal': no logging of heartbeats
Here are the EEValues used:
EEValues=Mode=0,PIRDelay=0,HeartbeatInterval=1,LowBatteryLev el=133,TempCalibration=0,PowerSource=USB,OpFlags2=87,TempSca le=C,LEDBrightness=0
I can make the log available on request.

The time stamp (last change) on the HS3 device management page gets updated.
do you want the heartbeat logging to occur with Normal, Debug, or Detailed logging?
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old May 4th, 2017, 05:30 PM
claude claude is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montréal, Qc. Canada
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
what are you expecting to be logged related to "heartbeat events"?
Currently: Device MS II MS2 (41.5C.CC) sent a heartbeat message.

Proposed: Device MS II MS2 (41.5C.CC) sent a heartbeat message: battery level={full|good|low|almost dead}, temperature=degrees, light level={0-255}

I realize now that a more descriptive logging is a must for debugging.
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old May 4th, 2017, 05:32 PM
claude claude is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montréal, Qc. Canada
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
do you want the heartbeat logging to occur with Normal, Debug, or Detailed logging?
I'd say heartbeat logging for all debugging modes, especially if you implement my suggestion on the contents (previous post).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programming Insteon Motion Sensor JimSpy Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 1 September 19th, 2016 09:20 PM
Insteon Motion Sensor BIGMACK48 RFXCOM Plug-In (3P) 1 April 23rd, 2010 07:11 AM
Insteon motion sensor compatibility? jdls HomeSeer General Discussion Area 2 November 2nd, 2009 12:08 PM
INSTEON Motion Sensor support? vansluis Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 56 July 20th, 2009 06:07 PM
Insteon Motion Sensor jamesx0 ISY Plug-in Beta (3P) 5 November 12th, 2008 04:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC