www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler)

Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) Discussions related to Mark Sandler's 3rd parth plug-in for controlling Insteon devices via Smarthome's PLM interfaces (the 2412 & 2413 series controllers)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old April 17th, 2017, 08:51 PM
cmomany cmomany is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Watkinsville, GA
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
you should be able to register the MS via the usb or battery. If using the battery, you must put the MS into linking mode first whether you are using the manual or tap add process.

I don't see any issues in the log you posted
I think you may have hit on my issue. I was putting the MSII into linking mode after the HS3 "add" feature. The I-Phone Insteon App is triggered by the APP's request first, so I assumed that was the same order for HS3. I'll try that order next time I need to link. I also apologize to the forum for the long log listing!
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old April 18th, 2017, 07:00 PM
claude claude is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montréal, Qc. Canada
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
I posted 3.0.6.13 with the next beta support for the MS II.

I have resolved and added the following :

1. The led on/off works
2. revised battery level graphics
3. added the dawn/dusk sensor
4. added temperature scale
5. added the low battery warning

a few comments
- still haven't invested the Modes. stick with Occupancy mode for now
- the Low battery level is adjustable but based on my testing the MS stops transmitting at 1.5v so there isn't much adjustment between the default low level of 1.75v.

Please delete the MS II from the plugin, factory reset the device, and register it again as new. This will ensure you are testing the latest setup.
Just received my first MS II. And now the questions...

ALL - Given there is no light sensitivity level anymore with the MS II, I'm wondering if anybody tested at what level the dusk/dawn triggers. EDIT - I just got a dusk message with a level of 6

Mark - I can see the different values for the Occupancy mode, some with exotic names:
  • Occupancy
  • Occupancy II
  • Night only
  • Vacation
  • Security
  • Light harvest
  • Party

Are these for drop down list display only for now or is the plugin actually sending code to the MS II ?

With previous versions of the MS, you could play with [Occupancy Mode = On] and [Send On Only = On] to tune it to your needs. And there was a separate parameter [Night Only = On]. I had mine set to work only at night and send only 'On' commands; this would lighten the load on the battery. From what I can tell, the MS II lost this flexibility, unless one these new Occupancy modes regroups that functionality.

Do the dev notes shed any light on this?

Last edited by claude; April 18th, 2017 at 07:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old April 18th, 2017, 07:45 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by claude View Post
Just received my first MS II. And now the questions...

ALL - Given there is no light sensitivity level anymore with the MS II, I'm wondering if anybody tested at what level the dusk/dawn triggers. EDIT - I just got a dawn message with a level of 6

Mark - I can see the different values for the Occupancy mode, some with exotic names:
  • Occupancy
  • Occupancy II
  • Night only
  • Vacation
  • Security
  • Light harvest
  • Party

Are these for drop down list display only for now or is the plugin actually sending code to the MS II ?

With previous versions of the MS, you could play with [Occupancy Mode = On] and [Send On Only = On] to tune it to your needs. And there was a separate parameter [Night Only = On]. I had mine set to work only at night and send only 'On' commands; this would lighten the load on the battery. From what I can tell, the MS II lost this flexibility, unless one these new Occupancy modes regroups that functionality.

Do the dev notes shed any light on this?
claude,

the mode will change the function of the MS but I haven't tested to see if it actually does what it suppose to, and some of the "exotic" modes require additional settings that aren't implemented

I will include a pop help message in the next version that will outline each mode.

try night only if you are interested, but no guarantees if it doesn't work
__________________
Mark

HS3 Pro 3.0.0.368
Hardware: Insteon Serial PLM | Vista Alarm 20P with AD2USB | HAI Omnistat2 | 1-Wire HA7E | RFXrec433 | Dahua Cameras | LiftMaster Internet Gateway
Plugins: Insteon (mine) | Vista Alarm (mine) | Omnistat 3 (by Kirby) | Ultra1Wire3 | RFXCOM | NetCAM | MyQ | BLRadar | BLDenon | Jon00 Charting
Platform: HP h8-1360t, Windows Server 2012 R2, i7-3.4GHz, 16GB memory
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old April 18th, 2017, 09:25 PM
codemonkey's Avatar
codemonkey codemonkey is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern California
Posts: 599
Hi Mark, got two more motions today.

Set one of them up and it is still ignoring the LED off setting. Set LED Brightness to 0. Still blinks.

I am running the .13 beta.
__________________
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Pro Edition
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Processor Type and Speed: i7 - 3.26 GHz
Total Physical Memory: 16Gig

Plugins: BlBackup | EasyTrigger | FitbitSeer | HSTouchServer | Insteon | WeatherXML
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old April 18th, 2017, 09:28 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,694
Can you check the opflags2 Key in the eevalues within ini to see if it changes when you change the setting via the plugin
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old April 18th, 2017, 09:34 PM
codemonkey's Avatar
codemonkey codemonkey is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern California
Posts: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
Can you check the opflags2 Key in the eevalues within ini to see if it changes when you change the setting via the plugin

It is set like this: OpFlags2=32,TempScale=F,LEDBrightness=0
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old April 19th, 2017, 01:09 AM
claude claude is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montréal, Qc. Canada
Posts: 1,026
MS II hard reset procedure

Apologies for hijacking this Insteon thread for a hardware question.

Have any of you tried a factory reset on a MS II? The procedure calls for the MS II to beep: mine is silent, but the LED blinks. So it's hard to determine when to stop holding the 'set' button after applying power. I should mention that I'm doing this by removing/reinserting the USB cable.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old April 19th, 2017, 01:39 AM
codemonkey's Avatar
codemonkey codemonkey is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern California
Posts: 599
all of mine have beeped. The led also flashes red when the reset completes. I have not tried to reset with a USB cable connected.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old April 19th, 2017, 01:59 AM
codemonkey's Avatar
codemonkey codemonkey is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern California
Posts: 599
Mark here are some new findings...

1. If you power the motion by USB then you can turn off the LED.
2. If you switch from batt to USB you end up with double links. (see image)
3. On batt, the temp is fairly consistently 10 degrees low. But when I plug in a USB cable, it less than a degree off of correct. (actually .5 degree's high)

This result is consistent over 2 brand new motion II's.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old April 19th, 2017, 03:35 AM
codemonkey's Avatar
codemonkey codemonkey is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern California
Posts: 599
Also just noticed that the battery "Good" image is missing.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old April 19th, 2017, 07:30 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by codemonkey View Post
Also just noticed that the battery "Good" image is missing.
add the below image to the html\images\insteon folder
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old April 19th, 2017, 07:34 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by codemonkey View Post
Mark here are some new findings...

1. If you power the motion by USB then you can turn off the LED.
2. If you switch from batt to USB you end up with double links. (see image)
3. On batt, the temp is fairly consistently 10 degrees low. But when I plug in a USB cable, it less than a degree off of correct. (actually .5 degree's high)

This result is consistent over 2 brand new motion II's.

1. i'll reset and check with SH on this.
2. please post the links from the insteon.ini for the device. I need to see the details
3. I noticed this as well. I already confirmed with SH about the formulas that I posted here. I would say to adjust with the calibration setting. not sure what else to do.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old April 19th, 2017, 07:38 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by claude View Post
Apologies for hijacking this Insteon thread for a hardware question.

Have any of you tried a factory reset on a MS II? The procedure calls for the MS II to beep: mine is silent, but the LED blinks. So it's hard to determine when to stop holding the 'set' button after applying power. I should mention that I'm doing this by removing/reinserting the USB cable.
after removing power, make sure to wait about 10 secs before holding set btn and restoring power. the ms should beep for several seconds, then double beep when finished.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old April 19th, 2017, 12:27 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by codemonkey View Post
Hi Mark, got two more motions today.

Set one of them up and it is still ignoring the LED off setting. Set LED Brightness to 0. Still blinks.

I am running the .13 beta.
based on my test, when on battery and LED off, i do think the flashing is minimized significantly but not eliminated completely.

i'll check with SH on this "feature"
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old April 19th, 2017, 01:15 PM
codemonkey's Avatar
codemonkey codemonkey is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern California
Posts: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
1. i'll reset and check with SH on this.
2. please post the links from the insteon.ini for the device. I need to see the details
3. I noticed this as well. I already confirmed with SH about the formulas that I posted here. I would say to adjust with the calibration setting. not sure what else to do.
2. I'm afraid I already fixed the issue. :/ Sorry. If it happens again, I will.
3. That was more informational, your formulas work fine.

Tony
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old April 19th, 2017, 01:16 PM
codemonkey's Avatar
codemonkey codemonkey is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern California
Posts: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
based on my test, when on battery and LED off, i do think the flashing is minimized significantly but not eliminated completely.

i'll check with SH on this "feature"
Yep that is what I'm seeing as well.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old April 20th, 2017, 01:55 AM
claude claude is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montréal, Qc. Canada
Posts: 1,026
MS II: what revision?

The MS II is very inconsistent for me. I've been running on USB power for a few days. Here are my observations:
  • Motion detection is a hit & miss; it flashes, with a 1-2 second delay after detecting movement, but many times there's no message back to the Insteon plugin
  • I tried resetting it, but as I've mentioned in another post, there's no beep, so it's pretty hard to figure out when it's time to let go the 'Set' button; I thought it might be because of power through USB, but I put the battery in and still no beep
  • It reported only one dusk in the two days since I've had it (mode = Occupancy)
I may have a bad unit.

My unit is rev. 1.0 2716, fw 46. Could you all let me know what your specs are if different than mine?
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old April 20th, 2017, 02:02 AM
codemonkey's Avatar
codemonkey codemonkey is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern California
Posts: 599
Yah I really think you got a dud. I have 4 running now, 2 on battery and 2 on USB. Despite the fact that I HATE the new mounting hardware, my devices have been very stable. I've reset a few of them during testing and they buzzed as expected.

All of my devices are the same rev and fw as you listed.

Tony
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old April 20th, 2017, 02:05 AM
claude claude is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montréal, Qc. Canada
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by codemonkey View Post
... As for reporting ... break the 3 items up in to individual log items because temp and light level are both set to not change update time if there is no change. So you should only get a log event if something actually changes ...
I tend to agree with this approach of one log entry per event type. Logging heartbeats would be very useful in evaluating variations or trends over time, especially light levels.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old April 20th, 2017, 08:21 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by claude View Post
The MS II is very inconsistent for me. I've been running on USB power for a few days. Here are my observations:
  • Motion detection is a hit & miss; it flashes, with a 1-2 second delay after detecting movement, but many times there's no message back to the Insteon plugin
  • I tried resetting it, but as I've mentioned in another post, there's no beep, so it's pretty hard to figure out when it's time to let go the 'Set' button; I thought it might be because of power through USB, but I put the battery in and still no beep
  • It reported only one dusk in the two days since I've had it (mode = Occupancy)
I may have a bad unit.

My unit is rev. 1.0 2716, fw 46. Could you all let me know what your specs are if different than mine?
have you called SH support to get them to help you with the reset?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programming Insteon Motion Sensor JimSpy Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 1 September 19th, 2016 09:20 PM
Insteon Motion Sensor BIGMACK48 RFXCOM Plug-In (3P) 1 April 23rd, 2010 07:11 AM
Insteon motion sensor compatibility? jdls HomeSeer General Discussion Area 2 November 2nd, 2009 12:08 PM
INSTEON Motion Sensor support? vansluis Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 56 July 20th, 2009 06:07 PM
Insteon Motion Sensor jamesx0 ISY Plug-in Beta (3P) 5 November 12th, 2008 04:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC