www.homeseer.com    

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer IFTTT Channel Integration

HomeSeer IFTTT Channel Integration General Discussion of HomeSeer's IFTTT Channel

Old February 12th, 2018, 02:17 PM
OverSeer

Huge improvements in IFTTT

You might want to revisit IFTTT. I’m amazed at how quickly my recipes are running now. They have made significant improvements. Geofencing recipes based on the location of my iPhone are fast and accurate. I love it when my HS3 driveway floodlights and porch lights come on when my car approaches the house.

Steve Q
Old February 19th, 2018, 11:25 AM
Seer Plus

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Q View Post
...Geofencing recipes based on the location of my iPhone are fast and accurate. I love it when my HS3 driveway floodlights and porch lights come on when my car approaches the house.

Steve Q
I'm new to IFTTT. Is there a good place to visit that gives examples of how to set this up?

In your case, how did you set this up, could you share this?

I'm assuming you have an app running on your iPhone which reports it's location somewhere? A working example would be great.

Thanks
Old February 19th, 2018, 02:04 PM
OverSeer

Yes, there is a free IFTTT app for iPhone or iPad. The app allows you to create “recipes” to automate many things. There are hundreds of sample recipes. You can create recipes to control HS3 devices. The possibilities are huge. But the service is cloud based and in the past the communication with the cloud has been somewhat unreliable. In my opinion, the cloud communication has been greatly improved and now is reliable for most home automation needs.

I use it to control some devices (Lutron light switches) that I cannot control directly with Homeseer.

Steve Q
Old February 19th, 2018, 03:55 PM
Seer Master