www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Security Systems Plug-ins > Security System Discussion > HAI/OMNI Panel for HS3 Plug-in (rmasonjr)

HAI/OMNI Panel for HS3 Plug-in (rmasonjr) Discussion about Rob Mason's HAI/OMNI Panel Plug-in

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 8th, 2017, 07:35 PM
lakemirror's Avatar
lakemirror lakemirror is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 184
Panel disconnect after burglar alarm

Had the first instance of panel disconnect in quite a while tonight.

The system was set to armed day and I opened the front door. Didn't hear the warning beeps, and the alarm triggered. Almost immediately got a text message saying the panel had disconnected. The panel reconnected and then disconnected again about 7 minutes later.

Logs emailed.

Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 8th, 2017, 08:13 PM
rmasonjr's Avatar
rmasonjr rmasonjr is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brookhaven, MS USA
Posts: 6,196
Thanks Tom I'll take a look and report back.

Sent from my Galaxy S7 Edge using Tapatalk
__________________

HS3Pro Running on a Raspberry Pi2 (Raspbian)
61 Z-Wave Nodes, 162 Events, 293 Devices
UPB modules via OMNI plugin/panel
Plugins: Z-Wave, BLRF, HAI, HSTouch, weatherXML, EasyTrigger
HSTouch Clients: 3 Android, 1 Joggler
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 9th, 2017, 12:39 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,305
@Tom,

It might also be the draw on the panel causing an issue. There is a similar post on the Cocoontech forum today relating to an Elk M1 panel.

Way long time ago here (first time installation) went to an outdoor and indoor sounder(alarm).

They did draw too much amperage. It was suggested to use a relay instead and power the sounders separately.

Rather here went to low amperage sounders and a separate HAI subpanel for the consoles. Well too went to 3 different panel battery backed up power supplies for the adds here. (main panel started at 16 zones, then 32 zones and finally 48 zones).
__________________
- Pete

Automator

HS3 Pro & Lite
Edition Beta 3.0.0.387 | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 10th, 2017, 09:37 AM
avpman avpman is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakemirror View Post
Had the first instance of panel disconnect in quite a while tonight.

The system was set to armed day and I opened the front door. Didn't hear the warning beeps, and the alarm triggered. Almost immediately got a text message saying the panel had disconnected. The panel reconnected and then disconnected again about 7 minutes later.

Logs emailed.

Tom
How do you setup a text msg to alert that the panel disconnected?
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 12th, 2017, 11:48 AM
lakemirror's Avatar
lakemirror lakemirror is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by avpman View Post
How do you setup a text msg to alert that the panel disconnected?
Thanks!
Technically it's a email message sent to my carrier's email to text service.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 12th, 2017, 03:20 PM
avpman avpman is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 85
I get how to send an email/text. but the only Omni "IF" condition available to me is "OMNI: User Armed/Disarmed." There are no other conditions available for the panel. What am I missing/doing wrong?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 12th, 2017, 06:44 PM
lakemirror's Avatar
lakemirror lakemirror is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 184
Start off with "If a devices value is"
Then select "This device changes and becomes"
Then you will see the list of all devices
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 25th, 2017, 10:34 AM
lakemirror's Avatar
lakemirror lakemirror is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
@Tom,

It might also be the draw on the panel causing an issue. There is a similar post on the Cocoontech forum today relating to an Elk M1 panel.

Way long time ago here (first time installation) went to an outdoor and indoor sounder(alarm).

They did draw too much amperage. It was suggested to use a relay instead and power the sounders separately.

Rather here went to low amperage sounders and a separate HAI subpanel for the consoles. Well too went to 3 different panel battery backed up power supplies for the adds here. (main panel started at 16 zones, then 32 zones and finally 48 zones).
..

It just happened again this morning. I went back and re-read this post from you and began to think about what happens just before the panel disconnects.

I have about 95 ALC hardwired lights in the house, and the OP2 is set to turn all lights on at alarm. Just to see if that might be the culprit, I did an "all on" via the Haiku app and sure enough, the panel disconnected from the PI.

Got any advice on how to remediate short of disabling the "all on" setting in the OP2? Thanks.....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 25th, 2017, 04:08 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,305
Weird occurrence.

Look at the Omni debug logs when you send an all on.

I read a while ago that Haiku was a bit network chatty.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 26th, 2017, 10:00 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,305
Here is a post from 2012 relating to Haiku and disconnects to the OmniPro 2 panel.

Haiku Losing Connection

Not sure is this would be related to the Omni Plugin disconnects.

Here have multiple panel network connections aside from the Omni Plugin.

Maybe trying the same with Snaplink and see what happens?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old November 27th, 2017, 01:06 PM
lakemirror's Avatar
lakemirror lakemirror is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 184
The problem isn't haiku-related. I did an "all on" within pcacess and the panel disconnected.

Last edited by lakemirror; November 28th, 2017 at 11:04 AM. Reason: typed "on" when I meant "off"
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old November 27th, 2017, 02:40 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,305
OK set up an event to trigger all on here.

Note here my units are a mixture of X10, UPB, ZWave and Zigbee.

Testing....

The all off and all on command shows all of my X10 and UPB lights in PCA status going on and off and in the Omni Plugin Unit configuration and status page.

Reading the help file for PCA it is doing what it is supposed to do. IE: change the status but not actually send an on command.

That said though the lights (X10 or UPB) are not going on or off and only do this if I manually turn them on or off.

Are your lights all going on with an all on trigger?

Last alarm trigger (years ago) did turn on all of the lights. Might be a bug?

I did not see any disconnects running the Omni Plugin on two HS3 boxes now.

Last edited by Pete; November 27th, 2017 at 03:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old November 27th, 2017, 02:46 PM
lakemirror's Avatar
lakemirror lakemirror is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 184
OMNI debug log sent to Rob
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old November 27th, 2017, 02:51 PM
lakemirror's Avatar
lakemirror lakemirror is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
OK set up an event to trigger all on here.

Note here my units are a mixture of X10, UPB, ZWave and Zigbee.

Testing....

All of my X10 (only two) and my UPB lights went on.

Do not see a disconnect here.

Will try same doing an all off.
An All Off does not disconnect the panel for me....I do one several times a day. I never do an All On manually, so the only time I noticed the panel disconnecting was when the burglar alarm tripped (and performed an All On programatically).
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old November 27th, 2017, 02:59 PM
rmasonjr's Avatar
rmasonjr rmasonjr is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brookhaven, MS USA
Posts: 6,196
Thanks - I'll take a look, but never seen a disconnect on All On. Right now, I only control individual devices, but I'll change my setup to All On as well.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old November 27th, 2017, 03:27 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,305
Yeah here tried both an all on and all off and did not see anything in the Omni Logs on the two instances of the Omni plugin.

From way back the assumption was that the all on and all off worked with my X10 but did not work with my UPB so I manually configured (via one link) it when the alarm was triggered.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old November 27th, 2017, 07:01 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,305
Noticed a bunch of network disconnect emails here from the HAILogger program when testing above earlier today.

The HAILogger program connects to the Omni Pro 2 panel and the Samsung Smartthings hub.


CoreServer: CONNECTION STATUS: No Reply

Name:  hailogger.jpg
Views: 31
Size:  65.8 KB

Created an ALL ON and ALL OFF button. I was able to replicate the error above pressing ALL ON.


HAI Logger - Error
Today, 6:48 PM
CoreServer: CONNECTION STATUS: No Reply

Hit the all on button a few times and watched some pings...no disconnects seen but it slowed down a bit.

Note that this is between the microrouter LAN interface and the OmniPro NIC interface.

64 bytes from 192.168.1.2: seq=26 ttl=64 time=2.820 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.2: seq=27 ttl=64 time=39.500 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.2: seq=28 ttl=64 time=8.440 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.2: seq=29 ttl=64 time=2.820 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.2: seq=30 ttl=64 time=28.600 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.2: seq=31 ttl=64 time=4.481 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.2: seq=32 ttl=64 time=4.700 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.2: seq=33 ttl=64 time=4.520 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.2: seq=34 ttl=64 time=28.221 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.2: seq=35 ttl=64 time=20.041 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.2: seq=36 ttl=64 time=4.460 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.2: seq=37 ttl=64 time=6.020 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.2: seq=38 ttl=64 time=27.441 ms

Personally thinking this is an issue with the bus that is affecting the NIC on the OmniPro 2 panel.

I only see a disconnect happening with the HAILogger program. I do have a microrouter between the OP2 LAN interface and the main network here.

Running HS3 lite here on an ARM 64bit Ubuntu computer so it is a bit faster than an RPi2&3.

Last edited by Pete; November 28th, 2017 at 12:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old November 29th, 2017, 09:48 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,305
Any volunteers out there for testing this issue?

Ideally a tester will:

1 - create an all on button
2 - press it a few times and see if you get a disconnect from the Omni Plugin.

Even easier just do a continuous ping to you Omni panel while pressing the button from your HS3 box (whether running windows or linux).

I am looking to prove up a ticket to Leviton relating to an issue with the bus and network interface and hopefully a fix by Leviton on their next firmware release.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old December 3rd, 2017, 11:00 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,305
Bump.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solar panel disconnect IP addressable Ricky HomeSeer General Discussion Area 8 April 19th, 2011 09:07 PM
RFXCOM Alarm Panel & SC28x Alarm msweb RFXCOM Plug-In (3P) 2 December 2nd, 2008 02:32 PM
Burglar Alarm chrisdutoit_2 HomeSeer General Discussion Area 4 September 28th, 2008 11:34 AM
Any Good Security/Burglar Alarm Scripts heatvent Script & Plug-In Library 0 June 2nd, 2008 10:31 PM
Bass burglar alarm does not respond Rien du Pre General Home Automation Hardware Discussion 3 September 22nd, 2004 11:22 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC