www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > HomeSeer X10 Plug-in

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old October 12th, 2017, 11:58 AM
mfisher's Avatar
mfisher mfisher is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ventura County, CA, USA
Posts: 1,226
Pete, thanks for digging into this!

Yes, HS3 Pro Linux includes the mochad directory and files. Looking at the source code I see that the CM15a plugin checks at Init() if mochad is in /usr/local/bin, and if not it copies mochad to /usr/local/bin/ and copies 91-usb-x10-controllers.rules to /etc/udev/rules.d/. Systemd is not referenced in the source code and the original .rules file appears to just run mochad directly when the CM15a is plugged in.

Later, the plugin checks whether mochad is running and if not launches it.

concordseer, I am glad you were able to get mochad v.17 working! I'll work to get that build into a future release of the CM15a plugin and see if there is a better way to handle the 'install' of mochad. Thanks for your patience.
__________________
Best regards,
-Mark-

If you're not out on the edge, you're taking up too much room!
Interested in 3D maps? Check out my company site: Solid Terrain Modeling
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old October 13th, 2017, 12:50 PM
concordseer concordseer is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ireland
Posts: 398
Mark, so far so good with Mochad 0.1.17.

Just came across this GitHub from a chap called Neil Cherry. He's testing IPV6 tables (which may be of use to some) so its now at Mochad 0.1.18

https://github.com/linuxha/mochad

As far as I can see the CM15 was "hacked" to extract some form of working solution for Linux. Still a bit unknown of its inner workings from what I read but certainly a work in progress.

I still have a fair bit of X10 equipment at my disposal , some dating back quite a few years and still in good working order, and it fits in nicely with HS3 (once its working of course).

I wonder how long the current crop of controllers will last operating 24/7. Built in obsolescence is the key to manufacturing processes these days
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old October 14th, 2017, 11:38 AM
mfisher's Avatar
mfisher mfisher is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ventura County, CA, USA
Posts: 1,226
Great that v17 is working for you, thanks for making the effort to figure it out! Let me know if you decide to try v18. IPv6 is likely not an issue when using mochad with HS, but maybe good to keep it current.

Most of my HA system is X10 with devices that have been running for more than 30 years which still work just fine. Of course those were built at a time when manufacturers had pride in their work and designed products to "last forever." Sad that those days are gone.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old October 16th, 2017, 05:15 PM
concordseer concordseer is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ireland
Posts: 398
Just did a fresh install similar to the one I carried out when I installed Mochad 0.1.17. This time I used a CM11 instead of a CM15. The difference with the installation was amazing. So straightforward. I now have the choice of which x10 controller to use now.

Sticking with x10 for the foreseeable future. If I do decide to upgrade to Mochad 0.1.18 I'll post the results here.

Thanks for you help Mark.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old October 17th, 2017, 01:10 AM
mfisher's Avatar
mfisher mfisher is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ventura County, CA, USA
Posts: 1,226
Great, glad that the X10 plugin for the CM11a/Ti103 hardware went smoothly. Of course these simply use a serial port while the CM15a is USB and requires the AH driver under Windows (very limited) or mochad under Linux, so more complicated!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old November 19th, 2017, 07:57 AM
abwyatt's Avatar
abwyatt abwyatt is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
Yeah just looked at the installation files for Hs3 Pro and it does have the Mochad directory when it gets unzipped.
Just discovered that this HS3 version of mochad, which is also deposited in /usr/local/bin when the CM15 plugin is installed, won't run on Ubuntu 16.04.3 and Mono 5X.

I've installed mochad 0.1.16 and that works.

Doesn't need udev rules to run. I've deleted all the udev rules in fact.
__________________
Intel NUC 7i5bnh/Kingmax 8GB/Transcend 32GB SSD HS3 v387/Lubuntu 16.04.3 64bit/Mono 5.4.1.6
HomeTroller SEL (Backup HomeSeer/Xeoma 17.11.24) HS3 v387/Lubuntu 16.04.3 64bit/Mono 5.4.1.6
HomeSeer: HS3 Standard, 3.0.0.398
Plugins: Z-Wave, CM15A, BLBackup, BLLAN, PHLocation, SDJ-Health, UltraLog3, EasyTrigger, UltraNetCam3, Jon00VDGraphing, Jon00PluginSetV2, drhsEventEnabler, BLPlex, Chromecast
Smart Speakers: 2 X Google Home; 2 X Google Home Mini
Chromecasts: 3 X Chromecast 2
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old November 19th, 2017, 08:44 PM
mfisher's Avatar
mfisher mfisher is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ventura County, CA, USA
Posts: 1,226
The plugin will start mochad if it is not running, but it only checks once at startup (not while it is running). If you unplug and re-plug your CM15a mochad will not be started and your CM15a will not work until the plugin is restarted or HS3 is restarted. The UDEV rules start mochad when the CM15a is plugged in, so if you ever want to disconnect and reconnect your CM15a without restarting the plugin or HS3 you'll need the UDEV rule.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CM15A plugin support for X10 motion sensors abwyatt HomeSeer X10 Plug-in 10 December 17th, 2016 09:26 PM
CM15A plugin now working on Zee S2. Rupp HomeSeer General Discussion Area 0 October 5th, 2016 11:59 AM
CM15A Plugin 'Device Type' input box hidden frankc HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 21 June 11th, 2016 11:25 AM
Help needed getting CM15A plugin working amr42 Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion 6 November 13th, 2015 03:13 PM
CM15A Plugin baudi Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion 20 November 28th, 2008 01:41 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC