www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Internet or Network Related Plug-ins > Internet or Network Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 12th, 2018, 07:54 AM
Marty_B Marty_B is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Central NC
Posts: 10
Controlling Distant Devices advise

Hi All,
I have powered gate, and some lights that I would like to control with Homeseer from my house. The issue is that the gate and electrical box for it is about 320' from my house. I dont want to run underground cables as there are lots of trees along the way. I am considering installing a z-wave hub in the electrical box at the gate, and connecting it to my network via power line network/homeplug. There is a power cable run from my main breaker box to the sub-box at the gate. I would run the power line network from the main breaker box to the sub-box.
I cant think of a better way to do it other than putting cables in the ground or a point to point Wifi antenna which would not look aesthetically pleasing.
Any other ideas?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 12th, 2018, 10:45 AM
cowinger cowinger is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Colorado
Posts: 952
What about Insteon. It uses the power line which you have running to the gate.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 13th, 2018, 02:43 AM
BlairG's Avatar
BlairG BlairG is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Phx.Arizona
Posts: 381
Using a power line adapter at the gate, that would get you a connection out there. Then using a Global Cache IP2IR relay device you could activate your gate operator.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 13th, 2018, 01:04 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,769
I have done it two ways. One with IP over powerline. Many adapters available. In this case I use We control that has a variety of UP.

The second is RD using LoRa. ESP32 microcontroller with multiple UP choices.

Some DOT hookup in both cases.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 13th, 2018, 01:33 PM
tome10's Avatar
tome10 tome10 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: AR
Posts: 832
I think what Cowinger was referencing was some type of powerline comms relay controlled by (Insteon Plugin?).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 13th, 2018, 01:43 PM
cowinger cowinger is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Colorado
Posts: 952
Quote:
Originally Posted by tome10 View Post
I think what Cowinger was referencing was some type of powerline comms relay controlled by (Insteon Plugin?).
Yes, there are several insteon devices that can handle motors and they can be controlled by the HS insteon plugin. If we knew more about what exactly it would take to control the gate that would help. Lights are no problem with insteon.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 13th, 2018, 02:00 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,769
The power line relay is simple. Do you need to know if the gate is open or closed before pulsing relay?

For my Wi-Fi garage door opener I use Sonoff ESP8266 to accept the open-close command and if door is already in the desired position then it does not pulse the relay.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 13th, 2018, 02:15 PM
Marty_B Marty_B is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Central NC
Posts: 10
Thanks for all of the great feedback. Do you know what the range is for Insteon?

The reason I avoided Insteon is because I have a couple of online UPSs in my house and those tend to inherently attenuate/filter anything on the power line except 60hz, just by being plugged in. My Homeseer computer is pretty far in the house from the power panel am afraid the signal quality will wont make it to the gate.

I know this sounds convoluted but I planned on putting a WIFI to ethernet bridge, connected to powerline which will make it to the gate, then a Zwave hub in the gate.

So the signal will go from my Homeseer computer to Wifi, from Wifi to ethernet via the bridge, from ethernet to powerline via the homeplug , out to the gate and then to z-wave. I know I know...not ideal.
I am just trying to figure a more elegant solution.


I also planned to use the Global cache relay controller to do what I needed. I just need to simulate button pushes for the gate controller, which will handle all of the motor controls.

Thanks again for the help.

Marty

Last edited by Marty_B; February 13th, 2018 at 02:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 13th, 2018, 02:26 PM
bebaldin bebaldin is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Illinois
Posts: 477
I did something similar by installing a Z-Net out at the gate, connected over a Ubiquiti bridged Access Point. Then I used a MIMOlite to control the gate through the normal Homeseer panel. I had several other devices at the location, so this was cost effective for me.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 28th, 2018, 09:36 AM
Marty_B Marty_B is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Central NC
Posts: 10
I am leaning that direction, using a wifi bridge. I think I can somewhat hide the antenna. Thanks again for everyones input. It really helped.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Smartstick on a distant Wi-Fi rooter Michelob SmartStick+ 2 November 23rd, 2017 10:30 AM
Adding distant devices/nodes to network ian351c HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 6 June 10th, 2015 10:32 AM
Cannot optimize distant nodes that I can still paul HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 4 October 9th, 2014 07:33 AM
Importing distant nodes bx10 Z-Troller™ 4 July 8th, 2011 03:12 PM
Controlling x10 devices or events from z-wave devices maverick HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 6 November 16th, 2009 01:30 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC