www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Hardware

HomeSeer Hardware Discussions of HomeSeer Home Automation Controllers and other hardware products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 8th, 2018, 03:26 PM
LeonPhelps's Avatar
LeonPhelps LeonPhelps is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 15
Which Controller to buy

If you were to buy a new controller with the exception of the HomeTroller S6 PRO. Which one would you buy and why ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 8th, 2018, 03:53 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 15,424
Here testing Homeseer Pro and Homeseer Lite in Linux.

Homeseer Lite (Zee2) initially was run on a RPi2 / Wheezy / Jessie.
Over time went to testing it on two newer computers and switched from RPi builds of Linux to Ubuntu Server 64 bit.

1 - Rpi2 running Wheezy / Jessie - 16Gb micro SD card. Used Samsung 16Gb SD cards.
Over time both micro SD cards went bad. Odd that they locked up where as I could read the cards fine but the lock bit was set such that I could not write to the cards. I replaced the cards with SanDisk 16Gb micro SD cards. I did keep the Samsung cards and Samsung did replace the two cards with 32Gb microSD cards as they have a lifetime warranty. I had not had any issues to date using SanDisk cards. (have 4 RPi's running doing this or that - but not Homeseer these days).

2 - A couple of years ago purchased an XiS Xi5A micro PC. This is a dual AMD / 2Gb cube. Homeseer Lite has run fine on this computer now for about 2 years. I leave it on but it doesn't always run Homeseer Lite as I am also testing...This computer runs Windows or Linux. I have it configured running Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit.

3 - Pine64 2Gb ARM based computer running Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit. The Samsung microSD card did fail in this computer and have updated it to a Sandisk. I have not had any issues with the device. It is larger than an RPi. Looking to update to the Rock64 / 4Gb / 32Gb eMMC computer. They were supposed to add a battery backed up RTC and have not to date. So I might get it anyways and use a PiFace RTC or DIY something for RTC.

3 - Homeseer Pro is running on a Haswell i3 with 16Gb of RAM and Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit. I DIY'd this computer and it is in a small case.
It also runs Windows Oracle Virtual Boxes for some Homeseer stuff that only runs in Windows.

It is up to you what type of computer you want to purchase and what OS you will be running for Homeseer.

Here ran Homeseer 2 and Homeseer 2 on Windows computers (last configuration was using a mini version of Windows Server).

Started initially Homeseer 3 on Windows when first introduced; then switched over to Linux.

Homeseer for Linux runs fine on Intel, AMD or ARM based computers. Homeseer for Windows runs on Intel or AMD based computers.

BTW for Homeseer Z-Wave here run a ZNet like device in the attic (POE powered). It is doing ZWave, 1-Wire sensors and NOAA satellite map downloads not breaking a sweat nor affected by the temperatures in the attic which have been up to 140 degrees in the summer minus 10 degrees in the winter.
__________________
- Pete

Automator

HS3 Pro & Lite Edition Beta 3.0.0.4449

HS3 Wintel Touch | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins | Speech - Microsoft SAPI - Neospeech - Amazon Echo | Hardware | Haswell Intel iSeries 3 - 16Gb | Pine64 - 2Gb computers | Openpeak Intel Atom SoC tabletop touchscreens (15 HS tabletop tablets) | Touchscreens - Windows embedded POE connected |Light switches - X10,UPB, ZWave and Zigbee | Firewall - PFSense - 2 WAN plus 4 LAN interfaces | Network - Gb managed switches / POE WAP(s) | CCTV - Zoneminder IPHD cams - variety | Audio - Russound - AB8SS | Security - Leviton HAI Omni Pro 2 | Weather - Davis Vantage Vue - MeteoStick - WeeWx | 1-Wire - AAG, Midon and HB | OWFS - Mosquitto - Node Red - Python - RPi Stretch - OpenWRT
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 13th, 2018, 01:36 AM
LeonPhelps's Avatar
LeonPhelps LeonPhelps is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 15
Thanks Pete, I was thinking more along the lines of the products that homeseer offers. Is it worth it to get the Hometroller s6 pro or would the SEL-Pro be the wiser choice and save some $$$

Basically just looking for the most compatible and reliable system.

I do like the fact that the S6's have a serial port for my russound connectivity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 13th, 2018, 02:06 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 15,424
The Hometroller S6 or S6 Pro would be nice.

These come with embedded Windows 7.

The Hometroller SEL and SEL Pro use a lite version of Linux V.14.04 32 bit.

Not sure if how familiar you are with Window or Linux. If you are more familiar with Windows then go with the S6.

Here have not used an RS-232 9 pin serial port on my Homeseer boxes since the early 2000's. Went to using Digi Edgeports way long time ago.

Last HS2 box used two 8 port Digi Edgeports and 1 Digi 7 port active USB hub. It was one USB cable from the HS2 box to the Digi stuff.

(IE: for 16 serial devices and 5 USB devices connected to Homeseer including the Russound stuff).

For the serial Russound connection purchased a micro serial server such that HS and my Leviton Omnpro 2 panel could talk to the Russound stuff. (and keypads and Omnitouch screens and HSTouch screens).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 13th, 2018, 08:44 AM
Rupp's Avatar
Rupp Rupp is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Huntsville, Al. USA
Posts: 37,035
Just so the OP knows the newer S6's no longer ship with W7 embeded but rather now come with W10 embeded.
__________________
-Rupp
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leviton VRCZ4-MRX (4 button zone controller) or Cooper controller? randman Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion 3 March 23rd, 2016 08:56 PM
How to remove device from controller w/out controller kenflorian HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 5 January 22nd, 2015 05:21 PM
Has anyone used a Leviton 4 button Scene controller with IR as a IR controller for HS Raptor HomeSeer General Discussion Area 5 January 30th, 2014 12:39 PM
Can I have a standalone controller in addition to an automated controller? yeahprolly Irrigation Discussion 12 September 28th, 2011 11:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC