www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in

HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in Discussions relating to the Z-Wave plug-in

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 21st, 2011, 05:11 PM
Drabbies Drabbies is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: California
Posts: 45
Homemanageables HM-DW001 for doorbell

has anyone used a HM-DW001 door sensor for a doorbell sensor? I have seen the post for the x10 relay sensor, but i do not have any x10 devices in my house so i would rather use a zwave device to monitor my door bell. Just wondering if anyone has any recommendation on how to do this or if they have done it in the past.

Thanks for the help

Drabbies
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 21st, 2011, 11:43 PM
mwaite's Avatar
mwaite mwaite is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 1,289
You can use an Elk-930 Doorbell Detector wired into the HM-DW001. I am currently using an Insteon I/O Linc in place of an HM-DW001, but now that you mention it, I could replace it and remove another Insteon device.
__________________
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 22nd, 2011, 06:41 AM
Drabbies Drabbies is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: California
Posts: 45
would this be the correct wiring for it?

http://www.hometech.com/pdf/el-930.pdf

i still need to track down the wires to splice, but knowing how to connect it would probably be a great headstart.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 22nd, 2011, 12:15 PM
mwaite's Avatar
mwaite mwaite is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 1,289
Yes that's the correct wiring. FYI I like this interface because it still allows the light on the doorbell switch to be illuminated. Prior to this detector I simply used a 24ac relay which didn't keep the light on the switch illuminated.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 23rd, 2011, 01:22 PM
Dafunktyfunk's Avatar
Dafunktyfunk Dafunktyfunk is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Side
Posts: 1,227
I remember Rupp doing something just like this using just one device.
__________________
Transitioning to HS3Pro .298 - WinXPEmbedded

Hometroller S3 Pro - WinXPEmbedded - HSP 2.5.0.81 - BLStat - HSPhone - HSTouch Srvr 1.0.0.73 - Touchpad - BLLan - BLOccupied - DSC Plug 2.0.0.14 - BLStat .38
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 23rd, 2011, 08:01 PM
chewie chewie is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 935
I would be interested in how you accomplish this with the Z-wave device as well, I have been planning to use an X-10 DS10 module spliced into the doorbell wiring to do this. Doorbell rings, DS10 closes and you can trigger HS events off that and so forth.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 23rd, 2011, 10:23 PM
Rupp's Avatar
Rupp Rupp is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Huntsville, Al. USA
Posts: 37,007
Here's the thread explaining how I used a DS10A with the door bell.
http://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=131631
__________________
-Rupp
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 11th, 2011, 12:49 PM
prsmith777 prsmith777 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 571
I tried using the Homemanageables HM-DW001 hooked into the Elk 930... no luck

The problem was that the doorbell circuit is normally open and there is a quick push to close the circuit and ring the bell. The HM-DW001 is very slow to respond to closing and the doorbell button needs to be held in almost a second to register. Its does react much faster when going from a closed position to open, nearly instant and probably fast enough to catch the doorbell. But that would mean adding another relay to this already convoluted idea.

ALso, note that if anyone wants to use the ELK930 and have three door chimes, there is not enough current passed through the ELk to power all the chimes and they sound dead. I suppose two might work, but didnt try it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 24th, 2011, 09:17 AM
sbwright's Avatar
sbwright sbwright is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 71
I used Rupp's schematic and inserted the Z-wave devices. Had the same issue with the timing being to fast had to insert relays to capture the doorbell ring.. I had separate devices for the 2 doorbells. Attached pics, we are in the process of building a new home so made it portable.
Attached Images
   
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 24th, 2011, 09:31 AM
prsmith777 prsmith777 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 571
Very nice work. Which relays did you use?

I still have the problem of not getting enough juice through the Elk 930 modules to run three chimes. I have front and back door push-buttons and three chimes. When I push the front door button, all is well with the usual "ding-dong" chime. But when I push the back door button, a feable weak "ding" comes out. I had to purchase a larger watt transformer to handle all three chimes, craftmade t1630, which has 30 watts. http://www.amazon.com/Craftmade-T163.../dp/B001R5UU0W I might email Elk and see if they have any answers.

Edit: I can see the Elk 960 relays now that I look. I sent an email to Elk concerning the power issue.

Last edited by prsmith777; May 24th, 2011 at 09:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 24th, 2011, 11:13 PM
prsmith777 prsmith777 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 571
What are the resistors for in the pics? Or are they diodes?

What schematics are you talking about of Rupps? Ive searched but havent found any schematics on this board. Is it this one?
Attached Images
File Type: pdf el-930-960.pdf (20.0 KB, 118 views)

Last edited by prsmith777; May 24th, 2011 at 11:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 27th, 2011, 08:36 AM
sbwright's Avatar
sbwright sbwright is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 71
That schematic is correct and yes they are diodes, as indicated in the schematic.

Got me wondering now maybe I used this schematic, and it was Rupp's project pics that got me started using the DS10's in place of the HM-DW001's.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old August 11th, 2011, 06:37 PM
chrisgo chrisgo is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 199
Really glad I found this post... I am just about to try the ELK-930 connected directly to the Everspring SM103-1.

Has anyone tried this? I am hoping I don't need the ELK-960 relay.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old August 11th, 2011, 06:44 PM
prsmith777 prsmith777 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 571
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisgo View Post
Really glad I found this post... I am just about to try the ELK-930 connected directly to the Everspring SM103-1.

Has anyone tried this? I am hoping I don't need the ELK-960 relay.
Yes you will need the relays for it to work. I tried without and unless someone holds down the doorbell button for over a second, it wont work.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old August 11th, 2011, 08:20 PM
chrisgo chrisgo is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 199
Thanks for the repsonse.

I don't supposed anyone has found a 16VAC (doorbell transformer) to 12VDC (Elk-960 relay) transformer? I am trying to avoid another 110V transformer if possible.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old August 11th, 2011, 09:51 PM
chrisgo chrisgo is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 199
I have virtually no electronics experience but I've come up with the attached to take the 16VAC and convert to 15VDC for the ELK-960 and 4.3VDC for the SM103.

If anyone has some background with electronics, comments welcomed.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old August 20th, 2011, 09:08 PM
chrisgo chrisgo is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 199
In case anyone else wants to try this - it seems to be working. I am powering everything off the door bell AC transformer.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old July 16th, 2012, 05:39 PM
tdinardo tdinardo is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: FL
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by prsmith777 View Post
What are the resistors for in the pics? Or are they diodes?

What schematics are you talking about of Rupps? Ive searched but havent found any schematics on this board. Is it this one?

I'm trying to duplicate what is shown in the schematic. What DC power supply are folks using to connect to the 960?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
doorbell zwave

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC