www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > HS3 / HS3PRO > HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion

HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion Discussions related to the released version of HS3/HS3PRO

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 11th, 2014, 08:38 PM
mrhappy mrhappy is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: W.Mids, UK
Posts: 7,036
HS3 Velleman K8055 Plugin

I've had a couple of hours to spare so decided to write a plugin for the Velleman K8055 input/output board (I have in the past written a HS2 plugin for this also). The board is well documented and well used for GPIO projects however it does support a relatively low number of input/outputs compared to some other boards . On the other hand it is lower in price than some commercial offerings, it also has slightly better protection with Darlington drivers protecting the inputs/outputs. I have tested and it does run remotely but will not run in Linux (and likely never will).

Plugin is in the HomeSeer Updater

Documentation & Release Notes: http://s652164905.websitehome.co.uk/...leman K8055 3P

Last edited by mrhappy; January 18th, 2017 at 06:14 PM. Reason: New Version - 69
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 12th, 2014, 04:46 AM
Elmstrom Elmstrom is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 100
Looks nice and clean, might have to dust off an K8055 to try it out
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 12th, 2014, 05:38 AM
mrhappy mrhappy is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: W.Mids, UK
Posts: 7,036
If you do use it then it would be great if you could let me know if it works or not
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 14th, 2014, 10:25 AM
midazzz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrhappy View Post
I've had a couple of hours to spare so decided to write a plugin for the Velleman K8055 input/output board (I have in the past written a HS2 plugin for this also). The board is well documented and well used for GPIO projects however it does support a relatively low number of input/outputs compared to some other boards . On the other hand it is lower in price than some commercial offerings, it also has slightly better protection with Darlington drivers protecting the inputs/outputs.

I don't honestly know if anyone is still using this in HS2 let alone HS3 so as such no one else has tested it, it should be considered beta like in its current state. I have tested and it does run remotely but will not run in Linux (and likely never will).

All documentation is inside the zip file with the plugin and the DLL file.

Any problems let me know.
I've installed the board with your software and did not found any issue.
Works well thanks for this. I use the board with security sensors( garage door)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 14th, 2014, 11:34 AM
mrhappy mrhappy is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: W.Mids, UK
Posts: 7,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by midazzz View Post
I've installed the board with your software and did not found any issue.
Works well thanks for this. I use the board with security sensors( garage door)
Thankyou for letting me know it works.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 28th, 2014, 02:14 PM
jayeazy jayeazy is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NL
Posts: 2
Thanks for making this version, still using the K8055, for my pond control.....
Just updated to HS3 and was allready wondering how to get this working again.

Regards
Jay
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 28th, 2014, 06:23 PM
mrhappy mrhappy is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: W.Mids, UK
Posts: 7,036
Thanks for the feedback, guess by the downloads there are more people using it than I thought.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 28th, 2015, 08:50 AM
simjoc's Avatar
simjoc simjoc is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 31
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 1st, 2015, 06:54 PM
mrhappy mrhappy is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: W.Mids, UK
Posts: 7,036
To anyone who was a little bothered like I was by the fact that in the last version I had devices set up in blocks for the inputs/outputs etc I have updated the plugin to create a new root device and associate all of the existing devices with this new device so they now all appear in one group.

This follows HS recommendation that devices should follow this principle, if you do not care about how the devices are shown in the UI then there is no point in changing version.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 20th, 2015, 09:31 AM
Blodstrupmoen Blodstrupmoen is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Norway
Posts: 25
Is there any way to get this to work with two K8055s?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old April 20th, 2015, 09:45 AM
mrhappy mrhappy is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: W.Mids, UK
Posts: 7,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blodstrupmoen View Post
Is there any way to get this to work with two K8055s?
the plugin only supports one board because I only have one board and was not going to waste money on buying a board just for this purpose. I could add the functionality but prefer to do it with the hardware to test it with...so you can't use more than one board with it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 26th, 2017, 10:35 PM
bje bje is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 20
K8061

Hello,
I have the K8061 board, which is similar, but not enough to work. Would you be willing to share your code with me so I can adapt it to K8061. I will be happy to share it back to you if you want to post it as well.
Thanks
Brad
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old January 27th, 2017, 06:14 AM
mrhappy mrhappy is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: W.Mids, UK
Posts: 7,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by bje View Post
Hello,
I have the K8061 board, which is similar, but not enough to work. Would you be willing to share your code with me so I can adapt it to K8061. I will be happy to share it back to you if you want to post it as well.
Thanks
Brad
Providing that it is not used for selling then I'm fine with this, please keep in view that it was one of the first I wrote for HS3 so I was still getting used to the API - just going back through the source now I can see a number of options to optimise slightly. The Velleman DLL's can be a little patchy also as some suffer from memory leaks.

It is a pity that the K8061 was not slightly cheaper (well I could try it just with the DLL but I never like doing it without the hardware) else I would buy one to write a plugin for it. I can buy a lot of electronic rubbish from China for £60 though

I've sent you a link to the code.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old March 10th, 2017, 03:04 PM
Archcantor's Avatar
Archcantor Archcantor is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: CT
Posts: 23
New Addition

I just finished building the K8055 kit and tested it with the Velleman demo software on my laptop. Then I connected to HS3 and installed your plugin. Wow! All the devices created and working! The functionality is similar to the HS ADIO-100 but with the K8055 all the ports can function at the same time. With the ADIO-100 you can only have any combination of a total of 8. As you know, the cool part of the K8055 is the LED indicators, test switches and test potentiometers. When I push the switches the HS3 display reflectes their status. When I command the K8055 output ports from HS3 the LEDs respond. When I rotate the pots the HS3 screen reflects their numerical analog value.

I see from the schematic that the USB interface is implemented through the PIC. I don't know a lot about USB. I am using Win7. I wonder if the K8055 will have a USB compatibility problem when I eventually have to upgrade to Win8 or 10. It doesn't appear to have created a USB serial device in Win7 so maybe not. Thanks for the great plugin for this board. -Rick
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old March 10th, 2017, 03:07 PM
mrhappy mrhappy is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: W.Mids, UK
Posts: 7,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archcantor View Post
I just finished building the K8055 kit and tested it with the Velleman demo software on my laptop. Then I connected to HS3 and installed your plugin. Wow! All the devices created and working! The functionality is similar to the HS ADIO-100 but with the K8055 all the ports can function at the same time. With the ADIO-100 you can only have any combination of a total of 8. As you know, the cool part of the K8055 is the LED indicators, test switches and test potentiometers. When I push the switches the HS3 display reflectes their status. When I command the K8055 output ports from HS3 the LEDs respond. When I rotate the pots the HS3 screen reflects their numerical analog value.

I see from the schematic that the USB interface is implemented through the PIC. I don't know a lot about USB. I am using Win7. I wonder if the K8055 will have a USB compatibility problem when I eventually have to upgrade to Win8 or 10. It doesn't appear to have created a USB serial device in Win7 so maybe not. Thanks for the great plugin for this board. -Rick
I've used it on Windows 10 so it's not a problem that I can see, I've not tested it long term though - glad it's working for you and hope you enjoy the plugin. The K8055 does not enumerate as a serial port it is a HID device so you should never have serial port issues.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Velleman K8055 Plugin V1.0.0 Malarcy Plug-In Development 231 June 6th, 2013 10:29 AM
Velleman K8055 VB.NET Plugin mrhappy Script & Plug-In Library 0 February 11th, 2011 06:23 AM
Velleman K8055 - Outputs CyberA Electronic Circuits and Hardware Modifications 7 July 12th, 2009 02:14 PM
Velleman k8055 Marnix Ongena MCS Temperature 3 March 1st, 2009 05:40 PM
Velleman K8061 plugin RFsolution Plug-In Development 9 January 18th, 2007 04:34 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC