www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer General Discussion Area

HomeSeer General Discussion Area General discussion about HomeSeer that does not fall into any other category or are not specific to 1.x or 2.x versions of HomeSeer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 1st, 2015, 09:07 AM
askme askme is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DE
Posts: 138
Apple Homekit(Siri) integration with Homeseer

I was tracking efforts by jayman and fraggel, and I thought there was a HS development effort as well, but all seems quiet.

I would like to get into using HomeKit with homebridge, but not if others have tried and failed or are about to unleash awesomeness.

Last edited by askme; October 9th, 2015 at 11:48 PM. Reason: Clarity
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 3rd, 2015, 08:12 PM
tommyd75 tommyd75 is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago
Posts: 105
home kit with homeseer

I've been using an Ubuntu server to run the Homekit bridge server and control lights and some other devices on my homeseer2 system for several months now. It works very reliably but you have to set up control of each device inside the home kit server config files so it passes the request over to homeseer.

I'm using Nick Farina's version here.

https://github.com/nfarina/homebridge


It's been very reliable, but like I stated before you have to configure each device you want to control. My method doesn't discover the Homeseer devices.
I saw that others on here were working on something that would do that, but never saw any updates. So I decided to take matters into my own hands.

Last edited by tommyd75; October 13th, 2015 at 10:12 PM. Reason: Typo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 5th, 2015, 08:54 AM
askme askme is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DE
Posts: 138
Thanks. I'll just roll my own. Did you configure each device natively in homebridge or did you create and virtual devices managed by homeseer? I can't imagine setting up my home security system directly in homebridge, but could see setting up some kind of link to the existing events/scripts I use to interface to it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 5th, 2015, 04:20 PM
stipus stipus is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 4,514
tommyd75,

Just downloaded and installed the package... This sounds very interesting !

Could you post a sample of your config.json to address one of the HomeSeer devices ?

Are you using the http shim ?

PHP Code:
        {
            
"accessory""Http",
            
"name""Kitchen Lamp",
            
"on_url""https://192.168.1.22:3030/devices/23222/on",
            
"off_url""https://192.168.1.22:3030/devices/23222/off",
            
"brightness_url""https://192.168.1.22:3030/devices/23222/brightness/%b",
            
"http_method""POST"
        

TIA,
__________________
--
stipus
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 6th, 2015, 10:43 AM
stipus stipus is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 4,514
Yay thanks Tommyd ... I can now control my Hue Lights and other HomeSeer devices (fan/screen/other HS controlled lights) using SIRI from the Apple watch ... that's coooooool !

If anyone else is interested, here is my config.json

PHP Code:
{
    
"bridge": {
        
"name""Homebridge",
        
"username""XXXXXX",
        
"port"51826,
        
"pin""XXXXXX"
    
},
    
    
"description""This is an example configuration file with all supported devices. You can use this as a template for creating your own configuration file containing devices you actually own.",

    
"platforms": [
        {
            
"platform""PhilipsHue",
            
"name""Phillips Hue",
            
"ip_address""XXXXXX",
            
"username""XXXXXX"
        
}
    ],

    
"accessories": [
        {
            
"accessory""Http",
            
"name""Écran",
            
"on_url""http://192.168.3.4:81/JSON?request=controldevicebyvalue&ref=55&value=101",
            
"off_url""http://192.168.3.4:81/JSON?request=controldevicebyvalue&ref=55&value=0",
            
"http_method""GET"
        
},
    {
            
"accessory""Http",
            
"name""Ventilateur",
            
"on_url""http://192.168.3.4:81/JSON?request=controldevicebyvalue&ref=91&value=101",
            
"off_url""http://192.168.3.4:81/JSON?request=controldevicebyvalue&ref=91&value=0",
            
"http_method""GET"
        
},
    {
            
"accessory""Http",
            
"name""Lustre",
            
"on_url""http://192.168.3.4:81/JSON?request=controldevicebyvalue&ref=7&value=101",
            
"off_url""http://192.168.3.4:81/JSON?request=controldevicebyvalue&ref=7&value=0",
            
"brightness_url""http://192.168.3.4:81/JSON?request=controldevicebyvalue&ref=7&value=%b",
            
"http_method""GET"
        
},
    {
            
"accessory""Http",
            
"name""Halogène",
            
"on_url""http://192.168.3.4:81/JSON?request=controldevicebyvalue&ref=8&value=101",
            
"off_url""http://192.168.3.4:81/JSON?request=controldevicebyvalue&ref=8&value=0",
            
"brightness_url""http://192.168.3.4:81/JSON?request=controldevicebyvalue&ref=8&value=%b",
            
"http_method""GET"
        
},
    {
            
"accessory""Http",
            
"name""Lampe Orange",
            
"on_url""http://192.168.3.4:81/JSON?request=controldevicebyvalue&ref=9&value=101",
            
"off_url""http://192.168.3.4:81/JSON?request=controldevicebyvalue&ref=9&value=0",
            
"brightness_url""http://192.168.3.4:81/JSON?request=controldevicebyvalue&ref=9&value=%b",
            
"http_method""GET"
        
}
    ]

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 6th, 2015, 11:27 AM
askme askme is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DE
Posts: 138
Did you use the basic Homebridge or the tweaked version for Vera?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 6th, 2015, 11:30 AM
stipus stipus is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 4,514
I did use Nick Farina's version here.

https://github.com/nfarina/homebridge

At the beginning, it did not seem to work very well (siri not understanding what I meant), but it looks like siri is learning my accessory names, and it works better and better !
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 6th, 2015, 11:49 AM
stipus stipus is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 4,514
You need to install Node.js before installing HomeBridge.

I installed temporarily on a Mac, but you can find a tuto here to install Node.js on a Windows computer:
http://blog.teamtreehouse.com/instal...js-npm-windows
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 6th, 2015, 04:20 PM
askme askme is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DE
Posts: 138
Thanks. Node.js up and running, homebridge downloaded. I will borrow your accessorie setups to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 6th, 2015, 04:39 PM
stipus stipus is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 4,514
Based on the Http shim, I'm currently coding 2 new accessory types specific to HomeSeer:
- HomeSeerLamp
- HomeSeerDevice

The goal is to read HomeSeer device status from HomeKit...

Best regards,
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old October 6th, 2015, 06:31 PM
tommyd75 tommyd75 is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago
Posts: 105
homekit with homeseer

Yes, I'm mostly using the Http shim. Here's an example, this device is an X10 device with the address of K9, also you need to have either the json api (https://github.com/espenhogbakk/homeseer-jsonapi) installed on Homeseer server
or the tenHsServer (http://tenholder.net/tenWare2/tenHsServer/default.aspx) installed on Homeseer server,

{
"accessory": "Http",
"name": "Second Floor Hallway Light",
"on_url": "http://192.168.1.100/jsonapi.asp?action=deviceon&id=K9",
"off_url": "http://192.168.1.100/jsonapi.asp?action=deviceoff&id=K9",
"brightness_url": "http://192.168.1.100/tenHsServer/tenHsServer.aspx?t=ab&f=ExecX10&d=K9&a=Dim&s=%b",
"http_method": "GET"

},





Quote:
Originally Posted by stipus View Post
tommyd75,

Just downloaded and installed the package... This sounds very interesting !

Could you post a sample of your config.json to address one of the HomeSeer devices ?

Are you using the http shim ?

PHP Code:
        {
            
"accessory""Http",
            
"name""Kitchen Lamp",
            
"on_url""https://192.168.1.22:3030/devices/23222/on",
            
"off_url""https://192.168.1.22:3030/devices/23222/off",
            
"brightness_url""https://192.168.1.22:3030/devices/23222/brightness/%b",
            
"http_method""POST"
        

TIA,
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old October 7th, 2015, 01:08 AM
askme askme is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DE
Posts: 138
Well that was five hours of my life I won't get back.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old October 7th, 2015, 01:40 AM
stipus stipus is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 4,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommyd75 View Post
Yes, I'm mostly using the Http shim. Here's an example, this device is an X10 device with the address of K9, also you need to have either the json api (https://github.com/espenhogbakk/homeseer-jsonapi) installed on Homeseer server
or the tenHsServer (http://tenholder.net/tenWare2/tenHsServer/default.aspx) installed on Homeseer server,
HS3 has a JSON API. There is no need to install anything else as far as I know.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old October 7th, 2015, 06:47 AM
tommyd75 tommyd75 is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago
Posts: 105
Yes you're correct about HS3 but I'm using HS2 with my system.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old October 7th, 2015, 07:18 AM
stipus stipus is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 4,514
Talking

I did code a HomeBridge platform for HomeSeer.

It automatically imports the HomeSeer devices you want into HomeKit, lets you control the devices and get devices status

Currently I only have control and status for lights (on/off/brightness), but I'm going to add other device types....

If anyone is interested, I can post the code...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old October 7th, 2015, 08:33 AM
TomTom's Avatar
TomTom TomTom is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,414
This is excellent work. I saw that someone on the forum was working on it but there was not any update.
This method seems not too hard, but is there a How To For Dummies directions?
Ok, from the github page on thing to get started:

  • 1. An app on your iOS device that can manage your HomeKit database.
  • 2. An always-running server (like a Raspberry Pi) on which you can install NodeJS.
  • 3. Knowledge of Git submodules and npm.
I guess
1. would be MyTouchHome
2. your HS machine(XP) or can you put it on a pi or another pc.
3. ?

Stipus- yes please post the Homeseer platform if you could. TIA guys!!



Quote:
Originally Posted by askme View Post
Well that was five hours of my life I won't get back.
__________________
Tom
baby steps...starting again with HS3
HS3Pro: Z-NET & 80 Z wave Devices,
HSTouch: 4 Joggler (Android Kitkat), 2 iPhone, 3 iPads
Whole House Audio: 5 SqueezePlay Jogglers w Bose Speakers
In The Works: 10 Cameras Geovision, new Adecmo/Envisalink Alarm, Arduinos
System: XP on Fanless Mini-ITX w/ SSD
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old October 7th, 2015, 09:04 AM
stipus stipus is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 4,514
You can (should) install Node.js on your HomeSeer server... it should be always on...

For the npm stuff, you just have to follow the tutorial.... in fact you just have to:
- Download and install Node.js from http://nodejs.org
- Download and decompress HomeBridge from https://github.com/nfarina/homebridge
- open a command prompt (CMD.EXE)
- CD to the directory where you decompressed Homebridge
- Type "NPM INSTALL" to install HomeBridge
- Type "NPM RUN START" to start HomeBridge

Then you can start experimenting with the Http shim to control HomeSeer lights... I'll publish the HomeSeer platform soon...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old October 7th, 2015, 09:34 AM
TomTom's Avatar
TomTom TomTom is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,414
Ok, Thanks Stipus. Making more sense now.

So homebridge needs to be on the HS server too then? or can that it run on a different pc. Just asking because my HS server is a intel atom w XP, and I only run HS on it. I avoid putting other things on it because of fear of unknown software problems that could potentially interfere with HS or slow HS down.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old October 7th, 2015, 11:13 AM
askme askme is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DE
Posts: 138
Stipus, Love to see what you have developed. Ideally like tI collect the shims everyone has produced.

With regard to the steps you mention, the key is that you will need a toolchain with Python and C++ compiler for NPM to rebuild any components it needs. Doing this on my old win32 HS server proved to be a challenge. Python was simple, but I ran into Visual C compiler conflicts and lost an evening.



Quote:
Originally Posted by stipus View Post
You can (should) install Node.js on your HomeSeer server... it should be always on...

For the npm stuff, you just have to follow the tutorial.... in fact you just have to:
- Download and install Node.js from http://nodejs.org
- Download and decompress HomeBridge from https://github.com/nfarina/homebridge
- open a command prompt (CMD.EXE)
- CD to the directory where you decompressed Homebridge
- Type "NPM INSTALL" to install HomeBridge
- Type "NPM RUN START" to start HomeBridge

Then you can start experimenting with the Http shim to control HomeSeer lights... I'll publish the HomeSeer platform soon...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old October 7th, 2015, 11:44 AM
Valkilane Valkilane is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: netherlands
Posts: 14
Works like a charm

Currently controlling 20 devices, Homeseer and Hue seperate but still together, JSON request work straight out of the box on my windows HS3 install.
Have installed the insteon+ app on my iphone and had to fiddle a little bit with the config.json, but got there.

Incredible, stable, nice work!

was waiting for fraggle and others, but that'll do (pig )

Certainly a great WAF for domotics!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siri integration Jakob.Sand HomeSeer General Discussion Area 32 January 6th, 2017 04:11 PM
Homekit and Homeseer jayman13 HomeSeer General Discussion Area 30 July 16th, 2016 10:48 PM
Homekit - Homeseer bridge? kkkk HomeSeer General Discussion Area 2 January 24th, 2015 03:07 AM
Got Siri Working with HomeSeer! mark_anderson_us HS2 / HSPRO 238 August 8th, 2013 02:04 PM
Apple TV integration with Homeseer Steve Q Audio / Video and Infra-red (IR) Discussion 4 March 25th, 2010 03:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC