www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion

Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion Lighting & Primary Technology General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 2nd, 2017, 02:28 PM
MJackson MJackson is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 21
Nanoleaf Aurora

Has anyone seen or heard of this yet? It is really cool looking.
https://nanoleaf.me/en/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 2nd, 2017, 03:55 PM
ckellyusa's Avatar
ckellyusa ckellyusa is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: DFW
Posts: 148
I have them in my house, I really like them. They're coming out with new connectors and accessories for them too, later this year.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 2nd, 2017, 03:58 PM
MJackson MJackson is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 21
Awesome. How do you integrate them?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 2nd, 2017, 04:01 PM
ckellyusa's Avatar
ckellyusa ckellyusa is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: DFW
Posts: 148
Currently they only work with the app and apple home kit stuff. An Alexa skill was just released (I haven't played with it yet) and IFTTT integration is in Beta. I haven't really tried to integrate it into HomeSeer yet, but they seem to have a lot of cool features coming!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 2nd, 2017, 04:10 PM
MJackson MJackson is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 21
Thanks, I think I am going to get some for my birthday (or earlier)... So many projects... Only so much money...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 16th, 2017, 06:44 PM
ckellyusa's Avatar
ckellyusa ckellyusa is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: DFW
Posts: 148
Anyone interested in writing a plug-in for these? They have their API available now, is that all that is required?

https://nanoleaf.me/en/consumer-led-...eaf-local-api/

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 17th, 2017, 03:23 AM
mrhappy mrhappy is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: W.Mids, UK
Posts: 7,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckellyusa View Post
Anyone interested in writing a plug-in for these? They have their API available now, is that all that is required?

https://nanoleaf.me/en/consumer-led-...eaf-local-api/

If it was a bit cheaper then I would buy a set and write a plugin for it but £200 is my oscilloscope I have promised myself , looking at the SDK then it would be fairly easy to write a plugin for it in HS as they are just standard HTTP calls so perhaps someone might pick this up for you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 17th, 2017, 04:11 AM
w.vuyk's Avatar
w.vuyk w.vuyk is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckellyusa View Post
Anyone interested in writing a plug-in for these? They have their API available now, is that all that is required?

https://nanoleaf.me/en/consumer-led-...eaf-local-api/

It seems these lights come in two flavors, WIFI and Zigbee. As for Zigbee, I am transforming my plugin to support more brands, as long they follow the ZigBee 3 standards.
The API that they publish now seems to be cloudbased only, that is something I stay far away from. But if they support 'standard' Zigbee, I can check if it could be incorporated in my JowiHue plugin in the future.

Wim
__________________
-- Wim

Plugins:RFXCOM, HSTouch Server, Squeezebox, BLGData, Restart, Jon00's Perfmon and Network monitor, WeatherXML, BLBackup, TenScripting, BC4, Pushover, PHLocation, JowiHue, Zwave, Sonos
650 devices ---- 336 events ----- 40 scripts
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 17th, 2017, 06:29 AM
w.vuyk's Avatar
w.vuyk w.vuyk is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,871
Ok,

Checked in more details here: https://nanoleaf.me/en/consumer-led-...pecifications/

All smarter series lights of Nanoleaf are supporting Zigbee HA 1.2 and are controllable with the JowiHue plugin in combination with the Raspbee/Conbee (current beta of the plugin).

Except the Aurora, sadly, which only supports wifi and is thus following the cloud protocol.

To bad for the Aurora. But the good news is that the other smart lights are controllable already.

Wim
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 17th, 2017, 11:56 AM
ckellyusa's Avatar
ckellyusa ckellyusa is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: DFW
Posts: 148
Wim, thanks for looking into it.

I agree that that it's not ideal that the Aurora only supports wifi. :/ I'm currently using the HomeSeer IFTTT channel in order to simply turn it on and off as my hallway light for now.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 10th, 2018, 11:36 PM
mminehan mminehan is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 370
Has anyone had a play with the Nanoleaf API?

I can get it to retrieve values (state, effect brightness etc) using the GET syntax but I can't seem to control it with "PUT" commands.

I would be keen to know if anyone else has had a play with this API in HS.

Here's my GET script if anyone is interested:



Quote:
Sub Main (ByVal Parm As Object)

' &hs.runScript("GetNanoleafStatus.vb",False,True)

Dim WebIp As String = "localnaonleafIPaddress:16021"
Dim Token As String = "enter your token here"
Dim WebAddress As String
Dim Result As String
Dim NanoleafPowerDevice As Integer = 2079
Dim NanoleafTestDevice As Integer = 2082
Dim NanoleafEffectDevice As Integer = 2081
Dim NanoleafBrightnessDevice As Integer =2083


' GET state, result will be something like {"value":true}

WebAddress = "http://" + WebIp + "/api/v1/" + Token + "/state/on"
Result = hs.URLAction(WebAddress, "GET", "", "")
hs.writelog ("Nano Test" , Result + " ")
If Result.Contains("false") Then
hs.SetDeviceValueByRef (NanoleafTestDevice, 0 , True)
Else
hs.SetDeviceValueByRef (NanoleafTestDevice, 100 , True)
End If

' GET brightness , result will be something like {"value":100,"max":100,"min":0}

WebAddress = "http://" + WebIp + "/api/v1/" + Token + "/state/brightness"
Result = hs.URLAction(WebAddress, "GET", "", "")
Result = onlyDigits (Result)
hs.writelog ("Nano Test" , Result + " ")
hs.SetDeviceValueByRef (NanoleafBrightnessDevice, Result , True)

' GET effect

WebAddress = "http://" + WebIp + "/api/v1/" + Token + "/effects/select"
Result = hs.URLAction(WebAddress, "GET", "", "")
Result = Result.replace ("""", "")
hs.writelog ("Nano Test" , Result + " ")
hs.SetDeviceString (NanoleafEffectDevice, Result , True)

End Sub

'Function to retrive value from string
Function onlyDigits(s As String) As Integer
Dim retval As String ' This is the return string. '
Dim i As Integer ' Counter for character position. '

' Initialise return string to empty '
retval = ""

For i = 1 To Len(s)
If Mid(s, i, 1) >= "0" And Mid(s, i, 1) <= "9" Then
retval = retval + Mid(s, i, 1)
Else If Mid(s, i, 1) = "," Then 'end if a comma
Exit For
End If
Next

' Then return the return string. '
onlyDigits = retval
End Function
__________________
iCore5 Win 10 Pro x64 SSD

HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.435 Windows

BLOccupied:,Device History:,Yamaha:,UltraMon3:,mcsXap:,Restart:,UltraNetatmo3:, UltraM1G3:,Ultra1Wire3:,BLBackup:,Harmony Hub:,DoorBird:,UltraECM3:,Nanoleaf 3P:,UltraRachio3:,Z-Wave:,SDJ-Health:,BLGarbage:,Blue-Iris:,Chromecast:,Pushover 3P:,EasyTrigger:

Last edited by mminehan; January 11th, 2018 at 04:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 16th, 2018, 09:13 PM
mminehan mminehan is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 370
I got it working.

Turns out that the 'hs.URLaction' has problems with the PUT command. There are several posts about this problem. Here for example:

https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=178424
https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=180358

The solution is to use a stream writer. Check the posts above on how to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old January 20th, 2018, 11:13 PM
mminehan mminehan is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 370
If anyone wants to have a look at my script that sets on/off, brightness and effect (uses value/status pairs) the script is attached. I'm not the best coder but it works. VB script.
Attached Files
File Type: txt SetNanoleafStatusBlank.txt (4.2 KB, 10 views)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old January 22nd, 2018, 09:50 AM
theplant theplant is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by mminehan View Post
If anyone wants to have a look at my script that sets on/off, brightness and effect (uses value/status pairs) the script is attached. I'm not the best coder but it works. VB script.
Hi!

Can you describe a bit the configuration required. I'm thinking a virtual device and then launching the script when the device changes? How did you configure the device?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old January 23rd, 2018, 12:11 AM
mminehan mminehan is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 370
Yep...that's exactly what I did.

You have get a token from the nanoleaf first. I did this using CURL which you can download for Windows. Instructions are in the nano leaf API document (register with nanoleaf as a developer to get this).

Once you have the token set up 3 virtual devices (on/of, brightness and effect). When any one of these virtual devices changes HS runs the script. The effect virtual device needs to have value pairs set up with the exact effect names (scenes) from the app.

Of course this is asymmetric in that if you use the nanoleaf iOS or Android app HS does not change the virtual devices.

I'm not at home but if you get stuck I can send some screenshots.

M

Quote:
Originally Posted by theplant View Post
Hi!

Can you describe a bit the configuration required. I'm thinking a virtual device and then launching the script when the device changes? How did you configure the device?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old January 23rd, 2018, 02:02 PM
theplant theplant is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 54
That went easier than i would of thought. Thanks for the script, works great. Can now the remove the IFTTT configuration that i had previously.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old January 24th, 2018, 01:21 AM
mminehan mminehan is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 370
Cool. Glad to help.

Maybe one day someone much more skilled than myself will write a proper plugin that read the stored effects and works in both directions.

But until then I'm happy with the basic script.

Cheers, M.

Quote:
Originally Posted by theplant View Post
That went easier than i would of thought. Thanks for the script, works great. Can now the remove the IFTTT configuration that i had previously.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old March 5th, 2018, 06:28 PM
bazyr bazyr is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 38
Hi, thanks for the script -- I've just started with Homeseer and have a Nanoleaf Aurora that I'd love to integrate. Two dumb questions:

1) I have a Hometroller SEL PRO, will this still with with a VB script?

2) Is there any way to try and get the Aurora formally supported/have a plugin written for it? The reason I switched to Homeseer was its huge compatibility, so it's really disappointing to realise it doesn't support this!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old March 6th, 2018, 01:46 PM
mminehan mminehan is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 370
I'mnot familiar with the Hometroller, so not sure how you setup up scripts. My system runs on Windows so I just put the scriipts in the script folder. You'll have to search the forums to find out how to add scripts to a Hometroller.

And as far as a plugin goes, I'm not skilled enough to make plugins. You'll have to convince someone like Blade or Ultra to give it a go. A proper plugin would be awsome.

M
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old March 6th, 2018, 04:17 PM
mrhappy mrhappy is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: W.Mids, UK
Posts: 7,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by bazyr View Post
Hi, thanks for the script -- I've just started with Homeseer and have a Nanoleaf Aurora that I'd love to integrate. Two dumb questions:

1) I have a Hometroller SEL PRO, will this still with with a VB script?

2) Is there any way to try and get the Aurora formally supported/have a plugin written for it? The reason I switched to Homeseer was its huge compatibility, so it's really disappointing to realise it doesn't support this!
Price has gone down a bit looking at Amazon so I might purchase and write a plugin for it. I'm just trying to think of a suitable place for it to go, if I decide on it I'll post it back here.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aurora mutimedia fungun HomeSeer General Discussion Area 1 May 26th, 2004 08:13 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC